| 11.8°C Dublin

Dubs' famous five set for showdown with Kerry


Dublin captain Stephen Cluxton lifts the Sam Maguire

Dublin captain Stephen Cluxton lifts the Sam Maguire


Dublin captain Stephen Cluxton lifts the Sam Maguire

Just five of Dublin's All-Ireland winning starters are named for their Allianz Football League Division 1 opener against Kerry at Croke Park tonight.

All Stars Stephen Cluxton and, Cian O'Sullivan, Johnny Cooper, Philly McMahon and Ciaran Kilkenny are the only ones who began against Mayo last September. But super-sub Kevin McManamon returns to starters as does Eoghan O'Gara.

Bryan Cullen is at centre-forward, Shane Carthy partners Declan O'Mahony in midfield, two former dual minor stars – Eric Lowdnes of St Peregrines and Cormac Costello of Whitehall – start and Ciaran Reddin will be at wing-forward.

Dublin hurling boss Anthony Daly has beefed up his side for their first meeting of the year with Kilkenny in the Walsh Cup final which is the curtain-raiser in tonight's double-header.

Alan Nolan replaces Gary Maguire in goals with Cian O'Callaghan, Stephen Hiney, Johnny McCaffrey, Colm Cronin and David O'Callaghan all starting in place of Simon Timlin, Matthew McCaffrey, Martin Quilty, Robbie Mahon and Eamon Dillon.

New Kildare boss Jason Ryan has made one change from his O'Byrne Cup winners for their clash with Mayo in Newbridge tomorrow, rotating his 'keepers to bring Shane Connolly in for Mark Donnellan.

* Tomorrow's All-Ireland club intermediate camogie semi-final between Liatroim Fontenoys and Lismore has been postponed because the pitch in Kinnegad is unplayable.

DUBLIN (SF v Kerry) – S Cluxton; J Cooper, S George, M Fitzsimons; E Lowdnes, C O'Sullivan, P McMahon; D O'Mahony, S Carthy; C Kilkenny, B Cullen, C Reddin; K McManamon, E O'Gara, C Costello.

DUBLIN (SH v Kilkenny) – A Nolan; C O'Callaghan, P Kelly, J Dougan; S Hiney, C McCormack, J Boland; S Durkin J McCaffrey (Capt); C Keaney, R Dywer, C Cronin; P Ryan, D O'Callaghan, M Schutte.

KILDARE (SF v Mayo) – S Connolly; M O'Grady, M Foley, H McGrillen; K Murnaghan, E Bolton, P Cribbin; T Moolick, G White; C McNally, E O'Flaherty, S Hurley; P Brophy, D Mulhall, P Fogarty.

OFFALY (v Wexford) – A Mulhall; D Brady, P McConway, J O'Connor; E Carroll, J Moloney, N Darby; M Brazil, N Smith; G Guilfoyle, P Cunningham, C Hurley; K Casey, N Dunne, N McNamee.

Irish Independent