Thursday 26 April 2018

Dubs' dual star O'Carroll in hurling switch as Carlow hit by Walsh blow

Donnchadh Boyle

Donnchadh Boyle

Anthony Daly has secured the services of Ross O'Carroll for the Dublin hurlers next year.

O'Carroll was part of the hurling squad for Daly's first year in charge in 2009 but, along with his brother Rory, declared for Pat Gilroy's football squad and picked up an All-Ireland medal in September.

However, he saw his chances limited due to a succession of injuries and has followed Conal Keaney by rejoining the hurlers from the football squad.

Meanwhile, Carlow will be without Thomas Walsh for the 2012 campaign, with the star midfielder expected to spend the coming year in Boston.

Walsh only returned to his native county in 2010 after playing for Wicklow, and his unavailability is a major blow to Carlow, who were looking to build on last summer's win over Louth -- their first in Leinster since 2006.

Carlow welcome reigning All-Ireland champions Dublin to Dr Cullen Park on Sunday and they will have Brendan Murphy available, while Derek Hayden and Paul Reid have returned after missing last year's campaign.

Elsewhere, Gerry Cooney has sprung a surprise by naming regular Offaly goalkeeper Alan Mulhall at full-forward for Sunday's O'Byrne Cup clash against Westmeath.

Mulhall has featured at No 14 sporadically for Offaly and regularly lines out there for his club Walsh Island, while Kevin Meehan will start in goal.

Kilmacud Crokes player Brian Hanamy is on the bench after declaring for the Faithful County, while Daniel Currams, who has previously hurled with Offaly, is also among the substitutes.

Wexford manager Jason Ryan has named an experimental side for the trip to Navan to play Meath. Ben Brosnan will be looking to pick up where he left off last year, while Anthony Masterson starts on the bench as Tom Hughes is given a chance in the No 1 shirt.

Offaly (SF v Westmeath) -- K Meehan; J Gallagher, P McConway, S Pender; J Keane, B Darby, L Hiney; R Dalton, R Brady; G Guilfoyle, N Dunne, A Keenaghan; W Mulhall, A Mulhall, K Casey.

Wexford (SF v Meath) -- T Hughes; N Murphy, F Lancaster, S Culleton; L Chin, G Molloy, A Doyle; D Waters, A Shore; E Bradley, B Brosnan, PJ Banville; P Byrne, K O'Grady, K Rowe.

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport