| 10.6°C Dublin

Dublin's croker chokers

2000 Leinster Final Replay

Kildare 2-11 Dublin 0-12

Leading by six points at half-time, Dublin looked to be cruising to a first Leinster title since 1995, but two quick-fire goals blew the game open. Dermot Earley struck within half a minute of the whistle, before Tadhg Fennin levelled. Tommy Carr's Dubs never recovered and the Lilies claimed a famous win.

2005 All-Ireland q/f

Tyrone 1-14 Dublin 1-14

Paul Caffrey's Dublin looked like reaching a watershed as they dominated Tyrone and led by five points after Tomas Quinn's goal. But Mickey Harte's men rallied, Owen Mulligan scored his famous goal and the Leinster champions needed a late Quinn point to force a replay, in which they were blown away.

2006 All-Ireland s/f

Mayo 1-16 Dublin 2-12

MAYO's warming up at Hill 16 seemed to spark the Dubs to life and after 46 minutes they looked set for a first All-Ireland final in 11 years, leading 2-11 to 0-10. But Caffrey's men ran out of steam and Andy Moran's goal filled Mayo with belief as they outscored their opponents 1-6 to 0-1 to win a classic encounter.

2009 All-Ireland q/f

Kerry 1-24 Dublin 1-7

THE Dubs didn't throw this one away, but that made the meltdown all the more stark as unfancied Kerry absolutely decimated them.

A year previously, Dublin could blame the loss of Alan Brogan and early missed chances when being humbled by Tyrone, but after Colm Cooper's goal just 40 seconds in, they weren't at the races and Pat Gilroy went back to the drawing board.

2010 All-Ireland s/f

Cork 1-15 Dublin 1-14

WITH Tyrone and Armagh conquered, the previously defensive Dubs led from the second minute to the 68th, and kept the lead at five points until midway through the second half when the wheels came off.

Ross McConnell gave away a penalty, duly slotted home by Donncha O'Connor, before Derek Kavanagh made sure of it.

Irish Independent