Thursday 14 December 2017

Dublin missing a host of big names as they name team for Mayo clash

Jim Gavin has once again opted for a slightly weakened Dublin team as the All-Ireland champions prepare to take on their final foes Mayo.

Jonny Cooper, James McCarthy, Cian O'Sullivan, Paul Flynn, Diarmuid Connolly, Paul Mannion and Bernard Brogan are some of the big names that miss out on a starting place.

However, Gavin has still selected All Stars Stephen Cluxton, Philly McMahon, Brian Fenton, Michael Dara MacAuley, Dean Rock and Ciaran Kilkenny.

Dublin are currently riding a 32 game unbeaten streak dating back to March 2015, and haven't lost to Mayo since 2012.

The game throws in at Croke Park at 7pm.


1. Stephen Cluxton

2. Philly McMahon

3. Michael Fitzsimons

4. David Byrne

5. Darren Daly

6. John Small

7. Eric Lowndes

8. Brian Fenton

9. Michael Dara Macauley

10. Niall Scully

11. Dean Rock

12. Shane Carthy

13. Ciaran Kilkenny

14. Eoghan O'Gara

15. Conor McHugh

Irish Independent Sport Star Awards

Pick our magic sports moment of the year and win a trip for two to London. To view the shortlist and cast your vote click here.

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport