Wednesday 21 February 2018

Dublin and Donegal's first clash since All-Ireland semi-final will see a few new faces

Dublin and Donegal in action in last year's All Ireland semi-final
Dublin and Donegal in action in last year's All Ireland semi-final
Cliona Foley

Cliona Foley

DUBLIN footballers have named an unchanged team from the one that lost to Cork last week for tomorrow's hugely-anticipated Allianz League clash with Donegal, their first meeting since the Ulster champions beat them in last year's All-Ireland semi-final.

Donegal boss Rory Gallagher has made just one change to the team that beat Derry, with Eamonn Doherty (right corner-back) coming in at corner-back instead of Ciaran McGinley.

The Ulster champions includes nine of the team who started against the Dubs last August but Colm McFadden, David Walsh, Leo McLoone, Neil McGee, Anthony Thompson and Rory Kavanagh (retired) are all absent.

Dublin are even more changed.

They will start only five - Rory O'Carroll, Jack McCaffrey, Jonny Cooper, Cormac Costello and Eoghan O'Gara - of their first 15 last time out but three who came off the bench that day - Kevin McManamon, Dean Rock and Darren Daly - are starting this time.

Mayo, who beat Kerry in their opening game last week, have made five changes for their clash with Tyrone.

Goalkeeper David Clarke makes his first league start since 2013 and former minor star Michael Halle gets his senior debut at corner-back.

Colm Boyle and Mickey Conroy (who both came on as subs in Killarney) as well as Diarmuid O’Connor  also come in and Robbie Hennelly, Chris Barrett, Patrick Durcan, Adam Gallagher and Evan Regan (injured) are dropped but Aidan O’Shea and Cillian O’Connor are expected to feature off a strong Mayo bench.

Colm Begley comes into the Laois starters in place of the suspended Brendan Quigley for their game with Cavan.

Meath, who lost to Galway last week - have made one change - Mark O'Sullivan for Bryan McMahon at centre-forward - for their home clash with Kildare.

Dotsy O'Callaghan returns to the Dublin hurlers' starting 15 who will be without the suspended Michael Carton for their Walsh Cup final against Galway, which is part of the big double-header in Croke Park.

Eanna Burke and Jason Flynn come back in for Galway ahead of Colm Flynn and the suspended Andy Smith.

Elsewhere Carlow have become the latest county to get a second sponsor and will have branding from Tullow hotel Mount Wolseley on the back of their jerseys this season

DUBLIN (SF v Donegal) - S Currie; E Culligan, R O'Carroll, D Daly; J McCaffrey, J Small, J Cooper; D Bastick, S Carthy; T Brady, D Rock, E O'Conghaile; K McManamon, E O'Gara, C Costello.

MAYO (SF v Tyrone) - D Clarke; M Hall, K Keane, K Higgins; L Keegan, S Coen, C Boyle; S O'Shea, D Vaughan; D O'Connor, K McLoughlin, J Doherty; M Conroy, A Freeman, M Ronaldson.

DONEGAL (SF v Dublin) P Durcan; E Doherty, E MCGee, P McGrath; F McGlynn, K Lacey, M McHugh; N Gallagher, C Toye; R McHugh, M O'Reilly, O MacNiallais; P McBrearty, M Murphy, H McFadden.

LAOIS (SF v Cavan) - G Brody; P McMahon, M Timmons, R Kehoe; D Strong, G Hanrahan, C Begley; C Boyle, J O'Loughlin; J Finn, D Kingston, B Sheehan; R Munnelly, E O'Carroll, N Donoher.

MEATH (SF v Kildare) - P O'Rourke; D Tobin, C McGill, M Burke; P Harnan, D Keogan, B Menton; H Rooney, A Flanagan; G Reilly, M O'Sullivan, A Tormey; J Wallace, S Bray, M Newman.

DUBLIN (SH v Galway) - A Nolan; S Durkin, P Schutte, S Barrett;  S Lambert P Kelly, C Crummy; J Boland, B Quinn; C Keaney, E Dillon, M Schutte; D O'Callaghan, L Rushe, P Ryan.

GALWAY (SH v Dublin) - C Callanan; R Burke, F Moore,  P Mannion; J Coen, D Collins, G McInerney; J Cooney, D Higgins; E Burke, J Glynn, P Brehony; J Regan, J Glynn, B Molloy.

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport