Saturday 21 September 2019

Dr Crokes tear St Finbarr's to shreds to lay down All-Ireland marker

Dr Crokes 5-20 St Finbarr's 1-11

Daithí Casey of Dr Crokes in action against Colm Keane and Eoin McGreevey, behind, of St Finbarr's
Daithí Casey of Dr Crokes in action against Colm Keane and Eoin McGreevey, behind, of St Finbarr's
Michael Verney

Michael Verney

Dr Crokes laid waste to Cork champions St Finbarr's with a blistering attacking display to lay down a serious marker for All-Ireland club SFC honours.

They may have Clare's Milltown Malbay waiting in the Munster club SFC decider but on the basis of this scintillating display, Pat O'Shea's side should scale that hurdle with ease.

The Kerry kingpins were in scintillating form from start to finish with all 5-20 of their total coming from play and 11 different scorers in a complete performance by the 2017 All-Ireland winners.

Tony Brosnan, David Shaw and Brian Looney were all in sparkling form up front but Eoin McGreevey's 21st goal gave St Finbarr's a brief lifeline as they trailed 0-8 to 1-2.

The Dr Crokes response was emphatic, however, with superb goals from Daithí Casey and Johnny Buckley helping the Killarney side into a commanding 2-11 to 1-3 half-time lead.

They continued to pile on the pressure in the second-half with Shaw, Micheál Burns and substitute Jordan Kiely adding goals while a 20-minute cameo from Colm 'Gooch' Cooper included three beautiful second-half points.

St Finbarr's simply had no answers for Dr Crokes and the Kerry champions head into the Munster final as hot favourites in a fortnight's time.

SCORERS – Dr Crokes: D Shaw 1-3, J Kiely, D Casey, M Burns and J Buckley 1-1 each, B Looney 0-4, T Brosnan and C Cooper 0-3 each, G O'Shea, K O'Leary and G White 0-1 each.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

St Finbarr's: S Sherlock 0-6 (0-3 '45, 2f), E McGreevey 1-0, R O'Mahony 0-2, C Dennehy, I Maguire, D O'Brien 0-1 each.

DR CROKES – S Murphy; J Payne, M Moloney, F Fitzgerald; D O'Leary, G White, S Doolan; J Buckley, D Casey; M Burns, G O'Shea, B Looney; D Shaw, K O'Leary, T Brosnan.

Subs: A O'Sullivan for Moloney (39), C Cooper for Brosnan (42), J Kiely for Shaw (44), M Potts for Doolan (49), P Clarke for Buckley (51), J Lyne for Burns (53)

ST FINBARR'S – J Kerins; G O'Connor, R O'Dwyer, D Quinn; C Lyons, C Scully, S Dennehy; I Maguire, E Comyns; D O'Brien, M Shields, E Dennehy; E McGreevey, C Keane, S Sherlock.

Subs: C Barrett for Shields inj (13), J Burns for O'Dwyer inj (15), R O'Mahony for Keane (half-time), A O'Connor for McGreevey inj (34), A McCarthy for O'Connor (48)

REF – D O'Mahoney (Tipperary)

Online Editors

The Throw-In: 'Jim Gavin has achieved what Mick O'Dwyer and Brian Cody couldn't do'

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Also in Sport