Sunday 26 January 2020

Dorgan strikes late as Rebels survive Kerry fightback

Cork 3-9 Kerry 1-14 Eirgrid Munster U-21 FC Final

Sean White celebrates after scoring his side's third goal (SPORTSFILE)
Sean White celebrates after scoring his side's third goal (SPORTSFILE)
Mark O'Connor, left, and Barry O'Sullivan in action against Peter Kelleher, left, and Sean O'Leary (SPORTSFILE)
Kevin Flahive in action against Dara Roche (SPORTSFILE)
Kerry captain Jack Savage celebrates after scoring the first point of the game (SPORTSFILE)

Cork survived a stirring second-half Kerry comeback in Tralee to regain the Munster U-21 crown.

Kerry levelled the contest in the first minute of additional time through Tony Brosnan and the game looked set for extra-time only for Cork substitute Cian Dorgan to kick the winning point.

While Cork just about deserved victory, this young Kerry side - 12 of the starting 15 are underage next year - showed courage in coming back after Cork struck for two first-half goals from Brian Coakley (11 mins) and Sean Powter (19) to lead by 2-4 to 0-7 at the interval after playing against a stiffish wind.

The second half saw Kerry introduce Greg Horan and they took the game to Cork after Jack Savage and Sean O'Donoghue exchanged early frees. Killian Spillane pointed and Kerry went in front with a superb goal rifled to the net by Mark O'Connor.

Dara Roche added another for Kerry but Cork struck for another crucial goal in the 47th minute when Stephen Cronin sent Sean White through and Cork were two in front again at 3-7 to 1-11.

Kerry should have goaled on 50 minutes but Kieran Histon cleared the ball off the line. Savage converted a free and then came Brosnan's late equaliser before, with extra-time looming, Dorgan secured yet another title for Cork.

Scorers - Cork: B Coakley 1-2, S White and S Powter 1-o each; M Hurley 0-2, R Harkin, P Kelleher, S O'Donoghue (f), S Sherlock (f) and C Dorgan 0-1 each. Kerry: J Savage 0-6 (4f); M O'Connor 1-0; D Roche 0-3; K Spillane 0-2; B Seanacháin, T Brosnan and C Coffey 0-1 each.

KERRY - E O'Brien; B Ó Beaglaoich, J Foley, T O'Sullivan; M Flaherty, A Barry, G White; M O'Connor, B O'Sullivan; B Ó Seanacháin, M Burns, E Ó Conchúir; D Roche, K Spillane, J Savage. Subs: G Horan for B Seanacháin (h-t); D Foran for M O'Connor (42); C Coffey for B Beaglaoich (43); J Kiely for E O'Conchuir (49); T Brosnan for D Roche (56), F Clifford for G White (56).

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

CORK - A Casey; M McSweeney, J Mullins, D Quinn; K Flahive, S Cronin, K Histon; S White, S O'Leary; S Powter S O'Donoghue, R Harkin; B Coakley, P Kelleher, M Hurley. Subs: S Sherlock for S Powter (h-t); D O Duinin for S O'Donoghue (45); C Kelly for B Quinn (51); C Dorgan for B Coakley (50) E Lavers for S O'Leary (53). Ref - S Lonergan (Tipperary)

Indo Sport

The Throw-In: New era for Dublin, all up for grabs in the hurling league and club final heroics

In association wth Allianz

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport