| 18.5°C Dublin

Donaghy omitted from Kerry line-up

KERRY have surprisingly opted not to start Kieran Donaghy in Sunday's Munster SFC opener against Tipperary, and Daniel Bohan fills in at full-back for the injured Marc O Se who has a small tear in his hamstring.

Peter Crowley and Patrick Curtin get their first championship starts in the half-back and full-forward line, and Declan O'Sullivan lines out at full-forward.

Burgess' Donagh Maher, at corner-back, is the Tipperary hurlers' only debutant for their Munster opener against Limerick.

But the Premier County did not name any subs last night, increasing speculation that the recently returned Lar Corbett could yet play some part.

James Woodlock starts in midfield beside Brendan Maher, Eoin Kelly is fit to start at corner-forward but there is no starting place for Patrick 'Bonner' Maher or Seamus Callanan.

Meath's footballers have been hit by the loss of full-forward Stephen Bray ahead of Sunday's Leinster SFC opener against Wicklow because of a hamstring injury. Joe Sheridan comes in at No 14.

Manager Seamus McEnaney gives championship debuts to Donnacha Tobin at wing-back and Alan Forde and Mark Collins in the half-forward line.

Wicklow are expected to be unchanged from the side that won the Division 4 final last month, although centre-back Michael McLoughlin sat out a challenge match last week.

Dual star Stephen Kelly will double up once again this weekend, also lining out against the Meath hurlers in tomorrow's Christy Ring semi-final in Arklow.

Femanagh football captain Ryan McCluskey could be out for over 10 weeks after suffering a sinus cavity fracture in an accidental training ground clash earlier this week which kept him in hospital for three days.

TIPPERARY (SH v Limerick) -- B Cummins; D Maher, P Curran, M Cahill; T Stapleton, C O'Mahony, P Maher; J Woodlock, B Maher; G Ryan, N McGrath, P Bourke; E Kelly, B O'Meara, J O'Brien.

KERRY (SF v Tipperary) -- B Kealy; S Enright, D Bohan, K Young; T O'Se, E Brosnan, P Crowley; A Maher, B Sheehan; P Galvin, Darran O'Sullivan, K O'Leary; C Cooper, Declan O'Sullivan, P Curtin.

MEATH (SF v Wicklow) -- D Gallagher; M Burke, K Reilly, S McAnarney; D Tobin, B Menton, S Kenny; C Gillespie, B Meade; A Forde, M Collins, G Reilly; B Farrell, J Sheridan, C Ward.

ANTRIM (SF v Monaghan) -- C Kerr; A Healey, R Johnston, K O'Boyle; T Scullion, J Crozier, J Loughery; M McCann, A Gallagher; C Murray, M Sweeney, M McAleese; P Cunningham, M Magill, T McCann.

Irish Independent