Sunday 20 October 2019

Division Four round-up: Derry seal promotion while Waterford beat Antrim in front of 86 fans

Derry 0-13 Limerick 1-5

Derry manager Damian McErlain has led his side back to Division Three. Photo by Sam Barnes/Sportsfile
Derry manager Damian McErlain has led his side back to Division Three. Photo by Sam Barnes/Sportsfile

Derry have bounced back up to Division Three at the first time of asking after beating Limerick 0-13 to 1-5 to secure their promotion from Division Four.

Damian McErlain's side won their fifth consecutive game in the division to qualify for the league final with two games to spare. A red card to Limerick's Padraig de Brun made Derry's cause easier, and the Oak Leaf county recorded a five-point win to claim promotion.

Christopher Bradley was Derry's top-scorer with six points, four of which came from play.

Waterford 1-9 Antrim 1-8

Elsewhere in Division Four, Waterford edged Antrim by 1-9 to 1-8 in front of a disappointing crowd of just 86 fans at Carriganore.

A goal 15 minutes from time from Dylan Guiry proved decisive as Waterford recorded their second win of the campaign.

Wicklow 0-9 Wexford 0-12

Wexford, who had been langushing at the bottom of division 4, had something to cheer about as they picked up their second league win with three points to spare over neighbours Wicklow at Aughrim.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Corner forward Daniel Keane gave Wicklow an early lead with a point in the third minute but Wexford dominated after that with the backing of a near gale-force-wind.

Centre forward Jonathan Bealin drilled over four smashing points from frees and we had a brace of points each from his wing forwards Ben Brosnan and Conor Devitt , giving  visitors an 0-11 to 0-4 cushion at half time.

Wexford were to score only a single point against the wind in the second half  but instead they played smart football, getting all 14 outfield players behind the ball to curtail Wicklow’s opportunities to a minimum.

Indeed Wicklow were not to add to their account until the 47th minute whe Jody Merrigan drilled over the bar from a 45. And their cause was not helped when Jamier Snell was sin-binned for the last 10 minutes.

Scorers for Wexford: N Beralin 0-4, C Devitt and B Brosnan  0-2 each,\  N Hughes 0-2, K O’Grady 0-1 R O’Connor 0-1.

Wicklow: C McGraynor 0-2, D Healy, M  Kenny J Merrigan C OBrien, D Keane,  C O’Brien  0-1 each,S Duffy 0-2

Wicklow: R Lambert, O Manning, R O' Brien, E Murtagh, D Devereux, J Snell, D Fitzgerald, P O'Toole, D Healy, C Healy, C McGraynor, D Hayden  M Kenny, C O,Brien, D Keane.

Wexford: M Doyle, M Furlong, G Sheehan, C Carty, G Malone, B Malone, M O'Neill,D Waters, N Hughes,B Brosnan, J Bealin, C Devitt, B O'Connor, E Nolan, K O'Grady.

Referee: S Mulhare (Laois).

Online Editors

The Throw-In: 'Jim Gavin has achieved what Mick O'Dwyer and Brian Cody couldn't do'

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport