Thursday 19 July 2018

Diarmuid Connolly left out as Dublin boss Jim Gavin names team for Tyrone match

Diarmuid Connolly of Dublin
Diarmuid Connolly of Dublin

Diarmuid Conolly has been named on the bench for Dublin's All Ireland semi-final with Tyrone tomorrow.

Connolly is free to play after serving his 12-week ban for a push on linesman Ciaran Branagan earlier this summer.

Gavin has named the same starting 15 who handsomely saw off Monaghan in the quarter-final with Eric Lowndes going into the half forward line and Jack McCaffrey moving back.

Mickey Harte made one change to his Tyrone side when he named on Friday night.

Wing forward David Mulgrew, who scored 2-1 in a 27-minute cameo off the bench against Armagh in the quarter-final, starts in place of Declan McClure.

Tyrone are looking to book their first All-Ireland final appearance since 2008, when they won Sam Maguire for the third time after beating Kerry in the decider.

Harte's side come into the Dublin game in strong form after blitzing four Ulster opponents en route to the penultimate stage.

Derry were beaten by 11 points, Donegal by nine, Down by eight and Armagh by 18.

The last time Tyrone played Dublin in the championship was 2011, when Pat Gilroy's side won by seven points.


1 – Niall Morgan

2 – Aidan McCrory

3 – Ronan McNamee

4 – Cathal McCarron

5 – Tiernan McCann

6 – Pádraig Hampsey

7 – Peter Harte

8 – Colm Cavanagh

9 – Conall McCann

10 – David Mulgrew

11 – Niall Sludden

12 – Kieran McGeary

13 – Mark Bradley

14 – Sean Cavanagh (c)

15 – Matthew Donnelly


16 – Michael O’Neill

17 – Lee Brennan

18 – Rory Brennan

19 – Frank Burns

19 – Michael Cassidy

20 – Richard Donnelly

21 – Declan McClure

22 – Darren McCurry

23 – Justin McMahon

24 – Padraig McNulty

25 – Conor Meyler

26 – Ronan O’Neill

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport