| 23.6°C Dublin

Derwin’s goal steers Brigid’s to victory


Liam Kearns. Photo: David Fitzgerald/Sportsfile

Liam Kearns. Photo: David Fitzgerald/Sportsfile

Liam Kearns. Photo: David Fitzgerald/Sportsfile

St Brigid’s and Pádraig Pearses will meet in the semi-final of this year’s Roscommon SFC in what will be a repeat of the 2020 decider, which Brigid’s won by six points.

The reigning champions came good in their final quarter to see off Strokestown in Ballyforan on Saturday evening.

The sides were level, 0-12 to 1-9, at the second water break but an unanswered 1-2 on the resumption laid the foundations for a 1-16 to 1-11 victory. The goal came from Brian Derwin, which was sandwiched between a couple of points from play by player of the match Eddie Nolan.

Fionn Cusack grabbed Strokestown’s first-half goal but his side couldn’t sustain their momentum as Brigid’s kept their defence of the Fahey Cup on track.

Pádraig Pearses were far too streetwise for Boyle at Dr Hyde Park yesterday afternoon. Pat Flanagan’s men prevailed by 2-9 to 2-5, thanks to goals from David Murray and Lorcan Daly.

2018 champions Clann na nGael will meet Roscommon Gaels in the other semi-final after Clann na nGael saw off Michael Glaveys, 0-25 to 2-3. Liam Kearns’ men converted 16 out of the 17 shots they took at goal during the opening half.

Roscommon Gaels edged out last year’s intermediate champions and neighbours, Oran, by 2-5 to 1-7 at Hyde Park. A goal from defender Jack Casey gave Oran a dream start in the seventh minute but Decie Hoare’s side responded with goals from Mark Healy and Brian Kelly to take a 2-3 to 1-3 lead into the interval.

GAA Newsletter

Exclusives from under the skin of the GAA, from Ireland’s largest and best GAA team; Brolly, Mullane, Hogan and Ó Sé, to name but a few.

This field is required

Most Watched