Saturday 7 December 2019

Derry boss makes one change for league decider

Derry manager Brian McIver
Derry manager Brian McIver

Derry manager Brian McIver has made just one change for Sunday’s National Football League final against Dublin in Croke Park.

The surprise package of this year’s league defeated Mayo at the penultimate stage despite losing midfielder Fergal Doherty after 25 minutes and will be underdogs against a Dublin side looking for their second successive league title.

Wing-back Sean LeoMcGoldrick succumbs to a knee injury that occurred during a club match last week and his place is taken by Loup’s Aidan McAlynn. 

Mark Lynch will be the focal point of their attack at centre-forward and will look to continue the rich vein of form that saw him plunder 1-08 when they faced the Dubs at Celtic Park last month.

Derry team to face Dublin: Thomas Mallon, Oisín Duffy, Chrissy McKaigue, Dermot McBride, Kevin Johnson, Gerard O’Kane, Aidan McAlynn, Fergal Doherty, Patsy Bradley, Enda Lynn, Mark Lynch (captian), Ciarán McFaul, Benny Heron,. Emmett McGuckin, Cailean O’Boyle.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, tickets to Ireland's against Scotland in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

The Throw In: From 1955 heartbreak to 2019's five in-a-row - Inside the Decades of the Dubs

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport