Monday 10 December 2018

Dempsey takes control for DIT

DIT 1-11 IT Carlow 0-8

Cavan were too strong for Louth tonight
Cavan were too strong for Louth tonight

Dublin Institute of Technology all but booked their passage into the second round of the Sigerson Cup when they outplayed and out-fought Carlow in the first half having played against the stiff breeze in this first round game in Grangegorman.

The visitors didn't do themselves any favours either when shooting a succession of wides when they needed to make the most of the conditions.

Early points from Caoimhín O'Reilly and Glenn O'Reilly got the home side off the mark. Kevin Ryan replied for Carlow but all they had to show for their first-half efforts was another point from Michael Hurley.

Just before half-time DIT enterprise was rewarded with a goal from Conor Loftus that helped them into a 1-5 to 0-2 interval lead. Chris Healy posted their first score early in the second half for Carlow and they controlled the third quarter for force a succession of frees. On four occasions, keeper Killian Roche came forward and each time he found the posts to cut the gap to a point.

DIT reasserted themselves and even though there was little in it, the Dubliners never looked like losing. Especially when Shane Dempsey took a hold on proceedings to fire over three points to clinch victory.

Scorers - DIT: S Dempsey 0-4, C Loftus 1-1, G Reilly 0-2, C O'Reilly, E Flanagan, T Corcoran, S Hurley (f) 0-1 each. IT Carlow: K Roche 0-4f, C Healy 0-2, K Ryan, M Hurley 0-1 each.

DIT - L Stacey; S Clayton, B Power, R Shanahan; B Maher, R O'Brien, A McGowan; T Corcoran, S Hurley; E Flanagan, C Loftus, C Howley; G Reilly, S Dempsey, C O'Reilly. Subs: L Hughes for Corcoran (52); K O'Gara for Flanagan (50); C Pearson for Howley (41).

IT Carlow - K Roche; J Mitchell, E Buggie, R Ryan; J Casey, T Collins, R Hitchcock; K Chatten, S Ryan; J Walsh, C Healy, K Ryan; C O'Toole, M. Hurley, C Brennan. Subs: N Doyle for S Ryan (51); P O'Connor for K Ryan (51); B Carroll for O'Toole (51); D O'Sullivan for R Ryan (51).

Ref - S Mulhare (Laois)

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, a trip to Old Trafford to watch Man United take on Liverpool in the Premier League, tickets to Ireland's home games in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport