Tuesday 24 October 2017

Deeney makes New York pay penalty

Wicklow 2-10 New York 0-8

Jackie Cahill , at Croke Park

SECOND-half goals from Meadhbh Deeney and Lucy Mulhall secured the title for Wicklow yesterday.

The Garden County captured a first All-Ireland crown since the 1990 victory over London with an impressive eight-point replay victory.

Wicklow led by 0-6 to 0-4 at half-time and after threatening goals in the first half, they managed to find the net in the second period.

It was a tale of two penalties as Deeney coolly converted her 36th-minute effort for Wicklow before New York's Emma Clarke missed 10 minutes later, when a goal would have hauled the Exiles right back into contention.

For a spell in the second half, New York looked on course for a revival but their hopes were dashed five minutes from the hooter when Mulhall scored a sensational second goal for Wicklow.

The full-forward collected a magnificent long pass from substitute Laurie Ahern and finished to the bottom corner at the Hill 16 end.

Wicklow survived the second-half sin-binning of full-back Catriona Byrne, who was unable to resume due to injury, against a New York team that registered 13 wides, seven of those amassed after half-time.

Captain Mary O'Rourke led by example for New York with three points from play, but corner-forward Clarke was restricted to three from frees. Wicklow's Niamh Carroll also impressed with three points from play.

Scorers -- Wicklow: L Mulhall 1-3 (0-1f), M Deeney 1-2 (1-0 pen), N Carroll 0-3, C Deeney, S Miley 0-1 each. New York: Mary O'Rourke, E Clarke (3f) 0-3 each, M De Burca, M Brennan 0-1 each.

WICKLOW -- E Miley; J Miley, C Byrne, A Heffernan; L Fusciardi, C McKeon, N Kelly; J Kinch, L Gilbert; AM Doran, C Deeney, M Deeney; L Hogan, L Mulhall, N Carroll. Subs: S Miley for Kelly (h-t), A Ni hAnnaidh for Byrne (47), L Ahern for Hogan (50), C Walsh for J Miley (57), G Norton for Doran (57).

NEW YORK -- A Leyden; L Lilly, TA McCullagh, J Garcia; C McBrien, C Brady, J Monaghan; L McKeon, A O'Dwyer; Mary O'Rourke, K Roche, C Traynor; E Clarke, I Mullarkey, M De Búrca. Subs: M Brennan for Roche (39), R O'Reilly for Traynor (44), C McElroy for Lilly (55), M McVann for McBrien (57), Mary T O'Rourke for Mullarkey (58).

Ref -- M Doherty (Wexford)

Irish Independent

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport