Wednesday 24 January 2018

Cummins secures Poc Fada honours


Tipperary's veteran 'keeper Brendan Cummins had more reason to celebrate on Saturday when he secured his fifth All-Ireland Poc Fada title in Louth's Annaverna Mountains, WRITES Barry Lennon.

Cummins -- who will be part of the Tipp team to face Dublin in the All-Ireland SHC semi-final on Sunday week -- completed the 5km course in 50 pucks, leaving last year's winner Graham Clarke in second place. Cummins said that winning the All-Ireland title -- which is now in its 50th year -- was "special".

The event also saw another victory for the Tipperary man when he won the pairs' competition with Down's Karol Keating. Clarke again finished second to Cummins, two pucks behind with 109 in this event.

Meanwhile, there was also a record win for Waterford's Patricia Jackman. She gained her third straight Camogie Poc Fada title matching her 28-puck tally from last year.

Jackman held off the stern opposition to finish the course, with Galway's Rachel Monaghan completing on 31 and Lyndsay Condell from Carlow on 32.

Tipp rally to claim crown

Tipperary produced a stunning second-half comeback to seal a 4-4 to 2-9 victory against Kilkenny to land the All-Ireland minor 'A' camogie title at Semple Stadium.

Nicole Walsh pointed a free with just two minutes left to snatch the honours for the home side after a titanic tussle.

Tipp got off to a brilliant start with a fourth-minute goal by Sarah Fryday, but failed to score for the rest of the half.

Kilkenny began to hit their groove and an Orla Hanrick goal before half-time had them 2-6 to 1-0 ahead at the break.

Tipperary fought back when Fryday goaled three minutes after the interval and Michaela Graham soon had the margin down to two. Tara Kennedy reduced it to the minimum, but Fitzpatrick slotted a '45 and a free to put three between them again.

Walsh restored parity with a 52nd-minute goal. Kilkenny's Emma Kavanagh and Tipperary's Alice Fogarty exchanged scores before Walsh came up trumps to clinch the honours.

Meanwhile, Limerick won a tough battle with Antrim to claim the minor 'B' title in Ashbourne by 4-10 to 2-8. Goals from Martina McMahon and Niamh Ryan gave Limerick a 2-6 to 2-5 half-time lead. And Ryan bagged her second goal late on to seal the victory.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport