Saturday 26 May 2018

Crowley leads Templenoe stroll

Templenoe 1-9 Curraha 0-5

Templenoe eventually took control of the match before going on to win Stock photo: Sportsfile
Templenoe eventually took control of the match before going on to win Stock photo: Sportsfile Newsdesk Newsdesk

Classy Templenoe survived an early scare at Kilmallock to continue their relentless pursuit of Croke Park glory.

Templenoe have been brushing opponents aside with their swashbuckling style but Curraha caused them problems early on with their ultra-defensive game-plan, and the Kerrymen trailed 0-3 to 0-2 at the end of the opening quarter.

Curraha dropped 13 players behind the ball, and allowed very little space for Killian Spillane and Co to operate.

Curraha had points from Neil Shortall, David Toner and a Colm Moriarty free as only Cian Hallissey and Stephen O’Sullivan could find the posts for Templenoe. 

However Templenoe finally got to grips with the blanket defence, utilizing Brian Crowley and Stephen O’Sullivan down the wings, and when Cian Hallissey levelled in the 19th minute, the writing was on the wall for the Meath lads.

After Crowley fired Templenoe in front a minute later with a superb point from wide right, he was then taken down for a penalty in the 24th minute, which he dispatched to the net himself.

Cian Hallissey fired over a sublime point to leave it 1-5 to 0-3 at half-time.

Hard though Curraha tried, they only managed two pointed frees after the break.

Templenoe were always in control in the second half, with Tadgh Morley and Crowley outstanding and they added five points, with Pat Spillane Jnr having the final say.

Scorers – Templenoe: B Crowley 1-2 (1-0 pen), C Hallissey 0-3 (1f), S O’Sullivan 0-2, T Doyle, P Spillane 0-1 each . Curraha: C Moriarty 0-2fs, J McEntee (f), N Shortall, D Toner 0-1 each.

TEMPLENOE – A Sheehan; K O’Neill, T Morley, M Hallissey; P Clifford, J Spillane, G Crowley; S Sheehan, A Spillane; B Crowley, C Hallissey D Cahalane; K Spillane, T Doyle, S O’Sullivan. Subs:  J Holland for Cahalane (46), J Rice for M Hallissey (54), P Spillane for Crowley (B/C 56), J Sheehan for P Clifford (B/C 58),

CURRAHA – L Hogan; D Battersby, S McDermott, N Murphy; J McEntee, C Moriarty, D Toner; E McGovern, S Hogan; M Jackson, N Shortall, P Dowling; S O’Hanrahan, B Joyce, B Murphy.  Subs: S Keogh for D Battersby (35), C O Hanrahan for S O’Hanrahan (39), A Battersby for C Moriarty (44), I McManus for B Murphy (47), G Coyle for B Joyce (58).

Ref – E O’Grady (Leitrim)

Indo Sport

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport