Tuesday 11 December 2018

Cox goals ignite Galway

Galway 4-17 Leitrim 1-11

Eoghan Tinney opened Galway’s account with a sixth-minute point..Photo: Sportsfile
Eoghan Tinney opened Galway’s account with a sixth-minute point..Photo: Sportsfile

Independent.ie Sportsdesk

Undefeated Galway gave a very impressive display when hitting three first-half goals that killed off Leitrim's Connacht challenge in Carrick-on-Shannon.

Leitrim made a bright start and went 0-2 up after Jamie Quinn and David O'Connell pointed frees. Eoghan Tinney opened Galway's account with a sixth-minute point.

Tom Prior replied with a Leitrim point four minutes later. Mathew Cooley shot two Galway points in succession to put them on level terms by the 13th minute.

Galway took the lead for the first time when Tinney split the Leitrim posts with a 17th-minute effort.

Tinney's score initiated a major Galway surge over the next five minutes in which his side added 3-2 without reply.

In this period Daniel Cox hit two Galway goals and Liam Judge one, while Oisín McCormack and Ryan Monahan (free) hit a point each. Galway led by 3-7 to 0-5 at half-time.

A 40th-minute Oisín McCormack goal Galway put his side into a 4-11 to 0-5 lead. Nineteen minutes later, Leitrim centre-back Paul Keaney shot to the Galway net but it only proved to be a consolation score for his side.

Scorers - Galway: D Cox 2-0, E Tinney 0-5, R Monahan 0-4 (4fs), O McCormack 1-1, L Judge 1-1, M Cooley 0-2, O Gormally, E McCormack, C Raftery, A Halloran 0-1 each. Leitrim: P Keaney 1-1, D Casey 0-3, O Bohan (f), D O'Connell (f) 0-2 each; O Niblock (f), S Mallon, T Prior, J Quinn (f) 0-1 each.

Galway - D Halloran; E Walsh, S Black, C Deane; R Monahan, T Gill, C Sweeney; O McCormack, C. Raftery; L Judge, A Halloran, S Horkan; E Tinney, D Cox, M Cooley. Subs: O Gormally for Cooley (h-t); N Cunningham for Cox (38); J McLaughlin for O McCormack (45); C Halbard for Sweeney (45); O Dooley for Black (47); E McCormack for Horkan (54).

Leitrim - M Earley; T McKeon, E McLoughlin, J Flynn; N Keegan, P Keaney, F McGovern; C Moran, D O'Connell; C Clancy, T Prior, J Quinn; D Casey, S Mallon, O Bohan. Subs: O. Niblock for Clancy (40); C McGovern for Quinn (45); D Maguire for Mallon (49); F Davitt for F McGovern (52).

REF - P McTiernan (Roscommon)

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, a trip to Old Trafford to watch Man United take on Liverpool in the Premier League, tickets to Ireland's home games in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport