Thursday 22 March 2018

Coughlan in for Rebels as JBM keeps changes to a minimum

Cliona Foley

Cliona Foley

CORK hurling boss Jimmy Barry-Murphy has resisted wholesale change following their Munster final defeat, making a single change in the forwards for Sunday's All-Ireland quarter-final against defending champions Kilkenny.

Jamie Coughlan replaces Cian McCarthy, as he did from the bench when they lost to Limerick in the provincial decider, but is named at left corner-forward in a reshuffled attack, which sees Seamus Harnedy start at centre-forward and Conor Lehane move from the corner to right half-forward.

Mickey Harte has made one change from the Tyrone side that knocked out Kildare for the last round of the football qualifiers, in which they play Meath tomorrow.

Errigal Ciaran's Ciaran McGinley, who had been selected at half-forward earlier this summer, comes back into the team, but is named at wing-back and Aidan McCrory loses out in a reshuffled defence, with Ryan McKenna dropping to right corner-back. Cathal McCarron has been named despite suffering a dead leg in Newbridge and he is expected to face a fitness test before throw-in. Joe McMahon is named at wing-forward, but is again expected to operate as a defensive sweeper.

Elsewhere, women's gaelic football superstar Juliet Murphy has made a sensational return to the Cork squad, just weeks after announcing her retirement.

The Rebelettes suffered a shock defeat by Kerry in this summer's Munster final and Murphy returned to county training on Wednesday night, a major boost to Eamon Ryan's team ahead of their TG4 Qualifier on August 10. The Donoughmore midfielder is a five-time Allstar, was Player of the Year in 2011 and is regarded as possibly the finest player of her generation.

CORK (SH v Kilkenny) – A Nash; S O'Neill, S McDonnell, C O'Sullivan; T Kenny, C Joyce, W Egan; L McLoughlin, D Kearney; C Lehane, S Harnedy, P Cronin;L O'Farrell, P Horgan, J Coughlan.

TYRONE (SF v Meath) – P McConnell; R McKenna, C Clarke, C McCarron; C McGinley, P Harte, C Gormley; C Cavanagh, S Cavanagh; Matthew Donnelly, Mark Donnelly, J McMahon; D McCurry, S O'Neill, M Penrose.

Indo Sport

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport