Tuesday 19 November 2019

Corca Dhuibhne show extra class

PS Corca Dhuibhne 1-14 St Pat's Cavan1-11: Hogan Cup semi-final (AET)

Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne's man of the match Brian Beaglaioch
Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne's man of the match Brian Beaglaioch
Independent.ie Newsdesk

Independent.ie Newsdesk

Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne's dreams of winning back-to-back titles remain intact, but only just as St Patrick's Cavan looked set for victory when leading 1-10 to 1-9 in the 63rd minute at Nenagh.

Then the Dingle side won a free when their man of the match Brian Ó Beaglaioch was fouled just inside the St Pat's '45. Chorca Dhuibhne's free-taker Seamus Ó Muircheartaigh had been taken off, but he was sprung from the bench, as a specialist free-taker, to take the last kick of the game, with his side's Hogan Cup ambitions on the line.

Just as he had done on the Munster Final the first day, ice cool Ó Muircheartaigh's aim was straight and true and St Pat's had been denied at the death.

Chorca Dhuibhne went on to dominate extra-time, outscoring St Pat's 0-4 to 0-1 thanks to the experience of Ó Beaglaioch, Tom Ó Súilleabháin; and Marc Ó Conchúir, all Kerry minors last year, and added points from Sean Ó Gairbhia, two from Conchuir Ó Géibheannaigh and another from their saviour Ó Muircheartaigh.

Scorers - Pobalscoil CD: C Ó Géibheannaigh 0-7 (6f), S Ó Muircheartaigh 0-3 (2f), C Ó Bambaire 1-0, S Ó Gairbhia 0-2, B Ó Beaglaioch and PJ Mac Láimh 0-1 each. St Patrick's: T Donohoe 0-4fs, P Smith 0-4 (3f), B Argue 1-0, D Kennedy, B Conaty and P O'Reilly 0-1 each.

Pobalscoil CD - L De Bhailís; C Ó Súilleabháin, T L Ó Súilleabháin , C Ó Murchú ; A Ó Conchúir, B Ó Beaglaioch, T Ó Súilleabháin; M Ó Conchúir, P Mac An tSithigh; PJ Mac Láimh, S Ó Gairbhia; C Ó Géibheannaigh, S Ó Muircheartaigh, C Ó Bambaire. Subs: R Ó Mainnín for Ó Brosnacháin (48 mins), T Mac an tSithigh for Ó Bambaire (55), L Ó Brosnacháin for Ó Muircheartaigh (58), S Ó Muircheartaigh for Mac Láimh (63).

St Patrick's - F O'Rourke; D Lunney , D Monaghan, L Fortune ; D Kennedy , C McManus, JJ McGovern; T Galligan, B Argue; P Smith, P Leddy, D Brady; B Conaty, T E Donohue , C Smith. Subs: R O'Neill for Leddy (22 mins), S Fortune for McGovern (42), B Sheannon for Smith (52), Barry McKieran for Argue (56), P O'Reilly for L Fortune (68).

Ref - F Kelly (Longford)

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.


Gately seals a first  for Roscommon CBS

Roscommon CBS 0-10 Good Counsel 0-8: Hogan Cup semi-final

Roscommon CBS reached their first All-Ireland Post-Primary Schools SFC final with a hard-fought victory over Leinster champions Good Counsel in St Conleth's Park, Newbridge, on Saturday.

Leading by a solitary point at the interval, CBS managed to eventually see off their Wexford opponents as the accuracy of Richard Hughes and Noel Gately saw them across the finish line in a game that failed to sparkle as anticipated.

Thomas O'Connor's long-range free for Good Counsel opened the scoring in the opening half before Hughes levelled matters for the Connacht champions.

The lively O'Connor added two more points to nudge Good Counsel ahead again and they maintained that two-point advantage until midway through the half when three points on the bounce for Conor Shanagher, Gately and Hughes edged CBS in front for the first time.

Gately increased the lead just before the interval.

But there was still time for O'Connor to respond for Good Counsel from a free in injury time, leaving it 0-6 to 0-5 for CBS at the break.

Kilkenny minor hurling star Darragh Joyce kicked the equalising score six minutes into the second period.

But in a low-scoring half, two points in the 40th and 44th minutes from Hughes and Gately gave CBS an important two-point cushion.

O'Connor hit a free with 15 minutes remaining to narrow the gap before Gately and Jason Dunne exchanged scores to leave the minimum between the sides entering the final five minutes. But it was Gately who had the final say as his free was enough to hand Roscommon CBS an historic victory.

Scorers - Roscommon CBS: N Gately 0-5 (2f), R Hughes 0-3 (3f), K Whyte, C Shanagher 0-1 each. Good Counsel: T O'Connor 0-5 (4f), J Shiely, D Joyce, J Dunne 0-1 each.

Roscommon CBS - J Fetherstone; A Whyte, E Concar, S Casey; B Mullen, A Duignan, R Hughes; G Keenan, D Cunniffe; A Lyons, J Casey, B Cleary; K Whyte, C Shanagher, N Gately. Subs: R Horan for Concar inj (24), J McDonald for Cleary inj (30+1), R Farrell for Cunniffe (BC, 36), J Waker for Lyons (57), D Foley for Whyte (60+1).

Good Counsel College - C O'Connor; D Kelly, M O'Neill, S Barden; T Cody, S Stafford, B Power; I Carthy, D Lyons; J Shiely, D Joyce, T O'Connor; M Dwyer, B Whitty, E Porter. Subs: J Dunne for Kelly (h-t), J Myler for Swan (40).

Ref - M Deegan (Laois)

Indo Sport

The Throw-In: 'Jim Gavin has achieved what Mick O'Dwyer and Brian Cody couldn't do'

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport