Friday 25 May 2018

Cooper the catalyst as Dr Crokes progress

Former Kerry star Colm Cooper in action for Dr. Crokes. Photo: Eóin Noonan/Sportsfile
Former Kerry star Colm Cooper in action for Dr. Crokes. Photo: Eóin Noonan/Sportsfile Sportsdesk

All-Ireland club champions Dr Crokes secured their place in the semi-finals of the Kerry SFC by once again getting the better of Kenmare Shamrocks by 0-17 to 0-12.

Colm Cooper was the catalyst of many of Crokes' scores, while youngsters like Micheál Burns, Tony Brosnan and Gavin White also impressed in a fractious encounter.

Crokes will face West Kerry in the semi-finals on October 7 after the district side defeated a poor Austin Stacks side by 1-17 to 0-14 in Tralee.

Kerins O'Rahillys restricted All-Ireland minor-winning captain David Clifford to a single point in a comprehensive 3-12 to 1-6 success over East Kerry, with David Moran, Tommy Walsh and Gavin O'Brien scoring their goals.

South Kerry will be their opponents in the other semi-final after they overcame Aidan O'Mahony's Rathmore by 0-16 to 0-12.

Rhode and Clara will contest the Offaly football final after coming through contrasting semi-finals.

Clara were the underdogs against an up-and-coming Ferbane team but a disputed goal from a free three minutes into injury time from stalwart Scott Brady gave them a 1-13 to 1-12 win.


Brady gained about 10 metres from where the free was awarded which went unnoticed by referee Fergal Smyth and struck low to the corner of the Ferbane net. Ferbane then had a chance to level the game but Damien Egan's effort was waved wide much to the anger of the Ferbane sideline who were adamant it was over the bar.

Ferbane had led 1-7 to 0-3 after 20 minutes but 10 points in a row for Clara turned the game on its head. Ferbane then moved back in front in the closing minutes before Brady's goal shocked the finalists from last year.

Reigning champions Rhode had no such drama with a 1-15 to 1-7 win over Gracefield in the second semi-final. They led 1-9 to 0-1 at half-time with the goal coming from Anton Sullivan. Stephen Slattery added a late consolation goal for Gracefield who had Ruairi Allen sent off. Niall McNamee was in fine form for the Rhode men who will go into the final as favourites.

Corofin remain on course for a fifth Galway football title in a row - but only after seeing off a brave challenge of neighbours Annaghdown in the semi-finals.

Substitute Justin Burke was the hero for Corofin as he landed three late points to snatch a 0-11 to 1-7 win for the reigning Connacht champions at Tuam Stadium.

Damien Comer led the Annaghdown challenge and they seemed poised for a shock win when they led by a point going into injury-time, but supersub Burke rescued the holders.

Corofin will now meet Mountbellew-Moylough in the final in a repeat of the 2015 decider after former Galway star Joe Bergin and Young Footballer of the Year nominee Michael Daly were to the fore in their 3-10 to 1-4 win over Monivea Abbey in the other semi-final.

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport