Friday 6 December 2019

Connerton happy as Longford edge victory

Longford 0-13 Limerick 1-8

Longford manager Denis Connerton. Photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach / Sportsfile
Longford manager Denis Connerton. Photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach / Sportsfile Newsdesk Newsdesk

Denis Connerton's Longford side recorded their first two points of their Division Two NFL campaign following a narrow win over Limerick at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park yesterday.

In difficult conditions, Longford turned around a five-point deficit in the second half to come away with the spoils. Both teams had to rely on place kickers in the opening quarter with Longford's Brian Kavanagh converting the majority of their tally while Limerick's Ian Ryan kept them in touch to see the sides level at five points a piece at the turn over.

After the break, it was the visitors who raised the tempo and a brace of points from Ian Ryan and a well-taken goal from Tom Lee gave them the incentive. Longford however rallied back and seven unanswered points tilted the balance of favour in the direction of the Midlanders.

After the game, the Longford boss expressed his relief to have points on the board: "The last two matches we played have been difficult for us.

"We lost the O'Bryne Cup Final a couple of weeks ago and last weekend we were defeated by Offaly in Tullamore.

"I was impressed with the way Limerick set about their business, they had us on the ropes in the second half after they went five points in ahead.

"Our players however displayed great resilience and character especially after we conceded the goal."

Scorers - Longford: B Kavanagh 0-5, 4f, F McGee 0-2, L Connerton 0-1, M Hughes 0-1, B McKeon 0-1, D Reynolds 0-1, J McGivney 0-1, B Farrell 0-1. Limerick: T Lee 1-0, I Ryan 0-5f, D Neville 0-1, P Nash 0-2, Longford - P Collum; D Brady, B Gilleran, CP Smyth; D McElligott, J McGivney, D Reynolds; M Brady, D Masterson; B McKeon, B Kavanagh, R Smyth; D Gallagher , L Connerton, F McGee. Subs: M Hughes for M Brady ht, B Farrell for B McKeon 62nd, P McKeon for D Gallagher 67th, R Connor for F McGee 68th. Black A Dalton for D Masterson 46th F McGee for B Kavanagh 71st, R Smith 73rd.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Limerick - D O'Sullivan; J McCarthy, P Browne, S O'Dea; S Cahill, I Corbert, B Fanning; G Hegarty, D Tracey; C Sheehan, P Ranahan, S Buckley; D Neville, I Ryan, P Nash. Subs: P White for D Tracey 27th, T Lee for P Ranahan ht, T Childs for D O'Hegarty 62nd.

Ref: J Molloy (Galway).

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, tickets to Ireland's against Scotland in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Indo Sport

The Throw In: From 1955 heartbreak to 2019's five in-a-row - Inside the Decades of the Dubs

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport