Wednesday 21 August 2019

Connacht IFC final: Glennon fires Glavey's to title

Michael Glavey's 3-14 Claregalway 1-12

(stock photo)
(stock photo) Sportsdesk

Andy Glennon starred as Michael Glavey's become Connacht intermediate champions for the first time following a thrilling triumph over Claregalway at Hyde Park.

The west Roscommon side's full-forward hit 0-9 over the hour, including 0-7 from play, as Glavey's scoring power saw off the Galway champions.

The winners struck a major blow in the 16th minute when Gary Patterson's attempt to square possession for Stephen Comer was cut out by Brian O'Donoghue but the ball spilled from the Claregalway goalkeeper's grasp and trickled over the line.

Three Glennon points on the trot put Iain Daly's side in a commanding position but two scores in first-half injury-time from Danny Cummins and Conor Campbell left Claregalway trailing by five points at the break, 1-7 to 0-5.

Barely a minute into the second half, Glavey's pounced for their second goal when Glennon's quick thinking from a free found Comer and he fed Caoileann Fitzmaurice for a well-worked goal. But Claregalway refused to throw in the towel, helped by Barry Goldrick's accuracy from frees and a couple of scores from Seán Moran and Cummins.

Then, with seven minutes remaining, they gave themselves further hope when Mark Rohan found the net.

However, Glavey's feathers weren't ruffled and great work from Glennon and the lively Cathal Heneghan set up captain Conor Hussey for a clinching third goal.

Scorers - Michael Glavey's: A Glennon 0-9 (2f), S Comer 0-4 (1f), G Patterson 1-1, C Fitzmaurice, C Hussey 1-0 each. Claregalway: M Rohan 1-1, D Cummins, S Moran (2f), B Goldrick (3f) 0-3 each, C Campbell, C Kelly 0-1 each.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Michael Glavey's - D O'Malley; L Cregg, S O'Malley, N Morris; J Brennan, Tom Murphy, G Patterson; C Fitzmaurice, J Finan; C Hussey, S Comer, D Ruane; S Burke, A Glennon, C Heneghan. Subs: Tiernan Murphy for Burke (48), C Ruane for D Ruane (54), D Frayne for Comer (56).

Claregalway - B O'Donoghue; B Loughlin, Barry Callanan, M Goldrick; K McDermott, S Cunniffe, C Campbell; D Hennessy, E Commins; B Goldrick, S Moran, P Kearney; M Rohan, Brian Callanan, D Cummins. Subs: J Kearney for Loughlin (24), C Kelly for Brian Callanan (h-t), C Glynn for McDermott (42), M Kelly for Cunniffe (46), P Divilly for Kearney (46), P Fahy for Hennessy (60).

Ref - J Gilmartin (Sligo)

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: Tipp throw off the shackles while Kilkenny’s soul-searching begins

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport