Sunday 17 December 2017

Concannon edges St James through

St James (Galway) 0-12
Gneeveguilla (Kerry) 0-10
(After extra-time)

Bravehearts St James of Galway qualified for the final when points from Eoin Concannon and Johnny Duane helped them edge out Munster champions Gneeveguilla at Mallow yesterday.

The Galway side led in normal time until the last kick of stoppage-time when Liam Murphy's free forced extra-time.

St James had corner-forward Seamus Rabbitte sent off after 23 minutes when he was shown a straight red for an off-the-ball incident. Despite this, the Galway side managed to lead 0-6 to 0-5 at the interval.

After the sides turned around, the outstanding Paul Conroy, a former Galway minor captain, put St James an additional point in front.

Two minutes from the end, Murphy saw his free for Gneeveguilla come back off an upright but he was the hero when another free with the last kick of normal time was on target.

In extra-time, Concannon fired over another fine point for St James and just at the finish centre-back Duane raced upfield for the insurance point.

Scorers -- St James: E Conconnan 0-5 (1 '45'), P Conroy 0-3, R O'Connell 0-2, S Rabbitte, J Duane 0-1 each. Gneeveguilla: L Murphy, 0-5 (3f), B O'Leary, DJ O'Connor, Donie O'Connor, M Murphy, R McAuliffe 0-1 each.

St James -- J Egan; S Coughlan, A Deacy, C Glynn; J Burke, J Duane, T Walsh; P Conroy, M Kelly; M Elwood, E Conconnan, S Donnellan; R O'Connell, A O'Donnell, S Rabbitte.

Gneeveguilla -- P O'Riordan; B Sheehan, E Lawlor, M B Murphy; Danny O'Connor, P O'connor, J Sheahan; JP Brosnan, D Murphy; DJ O'Connor, F McAuliffe, B O'Leary; M Murphy, L Murphy, Donie O'Connor. Sub, R McAuliffe for B O'Leary.

Ref -- R Hickey (Clare).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport