| 6.6°C Dublin

Colm Cooper returns to Kerry starting XV for Tipperary clash but no James O'Donoghue


Colm Cooper

Colm Cooper


Colm Cooper

Colm 'The Gooch' Cooper will make his long-awaited return to the All-Ireland championship this weekend for the Kingdom's Munster semi-final clash with Tipperary in Thurles on Sunday.

Cooper hasn't played in the Championship since Kerry's All-Ireland semi-final defeat at the hands of Dublin in 2013 after suffering a knee injury.

Seven of the starting line-up that won last year's All-Ireland final are included but there is no place for last year's Player of the Year James O'Donoghue or Tommy Walsh, who take their places on the bench.

Paul Murphy and David Moran both miss the game through injury while Brian Kelly, Aidan O’Mahony, Fionn Fitzgerald, Stephen O’Brien and Donnchadh Walsh are listed among the subs.

The team is as follows:

1. Brendan Kealy Kilcummin


2. Marc Ó Sé An Ghaeltacht

3. Mark Griffin St Michaels/Foilmore

4. Shane Enright Tarbert


5. Jonathan Lyne Killarney Legion

6. Peter Crowley Laune Rangers

7. Killian Young Renard


8. Anthony Maher Duagh

9. Bryan Sheehan St Marys


10. Michael Geaney Dingle

11. Colm Cooper Dr Crokes

12. Johnny Buckley Dr Crokes


13. Paul Geaney Dingle

14. Kieran Donaghy (C) Austin Stacks

15. Barry John Keane Kerins O’Rahillys



16. Brian Kelly Killarney Legion

17. James O’Donoghue Killarney Legion

18. Stephen O’Brien Kenmare

19. Aidan O’Mahony Rathmore

20. Darran O’Sullivan Glenbeigh-Glencar

21. Fionn Fitzgerald Dr Crokes

22. Tommy Walsh Kerins O’Rahillys

23. Alan Fitzgerald Castlegregory

24. Donnchadh Walsh Cromane

25. Jack Sherwood Firies

26. Pa Kilkenny Glenbeigh/Glencar

Online Editors