Wednesday 21 February 2018

Codes combine as Tipperary's double-header request gets green light

Cliona Foley

Cliona Foley

MUNSTER Council and Kerry have agreed to Tipperary's request for an unprecedented hurling and football championship double-header next summer.

Tipperary were due to host the Kingdom in a Munster SFC quarter-final on May 20, a week before their hurlers took on Limerick in the provincial hurling equivalent, and the Premier County sought to play both games together to help maximise attendance.

Munster Council have now fixed both games as a double-header in Semple Stadium on Sunday, May 27 with 2.15 (football) and 4.0 (hurling) throw-ins.

"We haven't got our heads in the sand, we know what the economic climate is like out there," said Munster chairman Sean Walsh.

"We did not drop our headline prices last summer, but we did offer excellent packages and family tickets and we are always looking at innovative ways to give our supporters good value. This suggestion was one we felt was worth supporting."

Munster have also agreed to another double-header between the three same counties in Nenagh the previous day, involving the Tipperary and Kerry junior footballers and Tipp and Limerick's intermediate hurlers.

Elsewhere, Derry midfielder James Conway has become the first inter-county player to have a red card overturned this year, which frees him up for their Allianz League Division 2 opener against Galway tomorrow.

The Oak Leafers were aggrieved by Conway's dismissal in last week's McKenna Cup final and appealed it to Ulster Council's CCCC, who promptly rescinded it.

Conway is just back after a year-long injury absence, and, with Gerard O'Kane already out for six weeks with a fresh knee injury, Derry are so stuck for cover that manager John Brennan has recalled Scotland-based dentist Charlie Kielt to the panel.

Seamus O'Shea replaces younger brother Aidan in midfield in Mayo's only change of personnel for tonight's Division 1 opener against Laois, who have one change themselves, bringing in Colm Begley to replace Damien O'Connor.

Michael 'Brick' Walsh has been appointed as Waterford's senior hurling team captain for the 2012 season having previously led the team in 2007 and 2008

Limerick (SF v Leitrim) -- B Scanlon; D Quaide, J McCarthy, L O'Dwyer; J Riordan, B Fitzpatrick, P Ranahan; S Lucey, S Buckley; D Treacy, E O'Connor, J Cooke; G Collins, S O'Carroll, I Ryan.

Fermanagh (SF v London) -- R Gallagher; N Bogue, B Owens, J Woods; C Quigley, R McCluskey, B Mulrone; E Donnelly, J Sherry; D Keenan, B Og Maguire, T Corrigan; P Ward, Seamus Quigley, Sean Quigley.

Derry (SF v Galway) -- D Devlin; B McCallion, L Morrow, R Dillon; C McKaigue, M Craig, SL McGoldrick; J Conway, J Diver; B McGoldrick, M Lynch, M Bateson; C O'Boyle, P Bradley, C Gilligan.

Limerick (SH v Clare) -- N Quaid; S Walsh, T Condon, S O'Neill; B O'Sullivan, W McNamara, T Ryan; C Alliss, D O'Grady; D Hannon, J Ryan, N Maher; M Carmody, N Moran, M Ryan.

Offaly (SH v DIT) -- E Kelly; B Watkins, D Kenny, S Wynne; J Rigney, C McDonald, D Horan; C Mahon, M Verney; C Egan, D Molloy, M Morkam; B Murphy, J Bergin, D Mooney.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport