Tuesday 24 April 2018

Clinical O'Neill secures replay for Omagh

Carrickmore 0-8
Omagh 0-8
Tyrone SFC semi-final

Carrickmore and Omagh will have to meet again to decide who will face Coalisland in the final.

The sides finished level in a Plunkett Park thriller and will return to the Pomeroy venue for an intriguing sequel next Saturday.

Omagh will have three of their four suspended defenders back for the rematch. Manager Paddy Crozier was forced to patch up his defence after his three players failed at a Disputes Resolution Authority (DRA) hearing to have the bans overturned.

But his team performed with assurance and were unfortunate not to carve out a result from a full-blooded encounter.

Ronan O'Neill laid on a virtuoso display of finishing, hitting six points. Indeed, all Omagh's scores came from members of the All-Ireland winning Tyrone minor team, with Conan Grugan scoring the other two.

Kevin McNally (0-2), Barry Daly and Ciaran McAleer were on target in the first half for Carrickmore, as they led 0-4 to 0-3 at the break.

But a string of points from O'Neill, including a spectacular equaliser, earned Omagh a replay.

Scorers -- Carrickmore: K McNally 0-2, P McMahon, B Daly, M Donnelly, C McAleer, M McCallan, F Magill (0-1f) 0-1 each. Omagh: R O'Neill 0-6 (0-4f), C Grugan 0-2 (0-2f).

Carrickmore -- P McCallan; P Cuningham, C McGurk, B McLaughlin; P Hughes, C McAleer, P Daly; C Gormley, N Loughran; C Daly, B Daly, P McMahon; K McNally, M Donnelly, F Magill. Subs: M McCallan for B Daly, C Fox for McMahon, J Donnelly for P Daly.

Omagh -- K Winters; S Hackett, H Gallagher, P Tierney; D O'Neill, P Doherty, B Tierney; C Starrs, C McElholm; K Burns, C Grugan, C Clarke; R O'Neill, C McCarron, J McAnulla. Subs: P Tierney for O'Donnell, D McGloin for Hackett, K Burns for Starrs.

REF -- E McHugh (Aghyaran).

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport