Wednesday 13 November 2019

Cleary kicks Joseph's over line in replay

St Joseph's 0-12 Kilmurry Ibrickane 0-8, Clare SFC final replay

Stock photo
Stock photo Sportsdesk

Miltown's St Joseph's claimed a second Clare Senior football title in a row, and 15th in all, against neighbours and rivals Kilmurry Ibrickane.

Following a disappointing nine-point-all draw a week ago, this clash began more positively, with honest endeavour from both sides, even if there was a scarcity of scores in the first 15 minutes.

Please log in or register with for free access to this article.

Log In

Man-of-the-match Eoin Cleary kicked Miltown in front in the second minute from a free and seconds later Kilmurry midfielder Aidan McCarthy equalised from play.

Michael O'Dwyer had the ball in the St Joseph's net after four minutes of play only for the referee Fergal Gray to call back play for a free out.

Kilmurry were almost in again but Sean O'Brien smothered Dermot Coughlan's effort and guided it out for a '45.

Graham Kelly nosed the holders in front before Kilmurry kicked three in a row through Keelan Sexton to put his side 0-5 to 0-2 ahead by the 23rd minute.

St Joseph's rallied before the break and thanks to the Cleary twins Eoin (2) and Conor (1), the sides went in level at five points apiece.

Eoin Cleary put Miltown ahead for only the second time with a pointed free in the 35th minute before Kilmurry goalie Ian McInerney split the posts from a dead ball.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

When Sexton hit the target for the second time in a row on 56 minutes, he put his team 0-8 to 0-7 in front, forcing Miltown to rally. .

But the champions scored five in a row over the last 10 minutes of play through Darragh McDonagh (2), Eoin Cleary (free), Conor Murray and sub Eoin Curtin.

Scorers - St Joseph's: E Cleary 0-5 (4f); C Cleary, D McDonagh 0-2 each; Graham Kelly, E Curtin, C Murray 0-1 each. Kilmurry Ibrickane: K Sexton 0-6 (4f, 1 '45); I McInerney (f), A McCarthy 0-1 each.

St Joseph's - S O'Brien, E O'Gorman, S Malone, E O'Brien, G Curtin, Gordon Kelly, A McGuane, D McDonagh, C Cleary, K Malone, B Curtin, O Looney, Graham Kelly, E Cleary, C Murray. Subs: M Murray for Looney (47), E Curtin for Graham Kelly (56), C Hehir for K Malone (59), J O'Connor for McGuane (70).

Kilmurry Ibrickane - I McInerney, M Kileen, C Morrissey, D Hickey, D Walsh, M McMahon, S Hickey, K King, A McCarthy, M Hogan, M O'Dwyer, D Walsh, K Sexton, E Coughlan, D Coughlan. Subs: E Bracken for King (38), D Callinan for O'Dwyer (44), N Hickey for Hogan (59).

Ref - F Gray (Feakle).

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: 'Jim Gavin has achieved what Mick O'Dwyer and Brian Cody couldn't do'

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport