Thursday 14 December 2017

Cleary delivers Clare victory

Clare 1-10 Waterford 0-8 McGrath Cup

Clare manager Colm Collins. Photo: Sportsfile
Clare manager Colm Collins. Photo: Sportsfile

On day one of the 2017 season, the Clare footballers got off to a winning start at Meelick yesterday, defeating Waterford by five points.

Having reached last year's All-Ireland quarter-finals and won Division 3 of the league, Clare team boss Colm Collins will be keen to keep the momentum going and improve on last season's achievements.

On yesterday's performance, it is clear there is a lot of work to be done. Waterford got off the mark quickly and had the opening two scores by free-taker Paul Whyte.

Clare, on the other hand, didn't open their account until the 19th minute and had amassed seven wides up to that - they shot 11 in the opening half.

Eoin Cleary grabbed a goal for the Banner men before Whyte levelled matters with another free minutes later.

Clare hit three points on the trot through David Tubridy, Cleary and Jamie Malone, while Fearghal Ó Cuirrín pulled one back for the visitors to make it 1-3 to 0-4 at half-time.

In the second-half Clare maintained their ascendancy and were always in the lead, though Waterford were hot on their heels throughout. Some well-taken points and a significant drop in the wide count contributed to the victory.

Waterford did spurn a goal chance in the 50th minute when Whyte's shot from close range was well saved by Clare goalkeeper Joe Hayes.

Clare's next outing in the competition will be away to Limerick on Wednesday night, while Waterford will face the same opposition next Sunday.

SCORERS - Clare: E Cleary 1-4 (0-2 f's), J Malone 0-2, M O'Neill, D Tubridy, C Russell, D Egan 0-1 each. Waterford: P Whyte 0-5 (4 f's), F Ó'Cuirrín, C Murray, M Curry 0-1 each.

CLARE - Joe Hayes, E Collins, K Harnett, John Hayes, K Malone, G Kelly (Capt.), C Russell, J O'Dea, C O'Connor, M O'Neill, S Collins, J Malone, E Cleary, D Tubridy, S Malone. Subs: S McGrath for O'Dea (h/t), D Egan for S Malone (44), C O'Dea for O'Neill (53), L Markham for Tubridy (57), D Bolton for Russell (63).

WATERFORD - S Enright, T Ó hUallacháin, T O'Gorman, S Dalton, B Looby, S Prendergast, R O'Ceallaigh, T Prendergast, M Curry, C Murray, M O'Halloran, P Hurney, P Whyte (Capt.), J Veale, F Ó'Cuirrín. Subs: D Guiry for O'Halloran (47), F Galvin for O'Ceallaigh (61), K Murphy for Dalton (65), C Maguire for Dalton (65), A Trihy for Looby (69).

REF - S Lonergan (Tipperary)

Irish Independent Sport Star Awards

Pick our magic sports moment of the year and win a trip for two to London. To view the shortlist and cast your vote click here.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport