Tuesday 17 September 2019

Classy Jones runs show

Derrygonnelly Harps 2-8 Armagh Harps 1-8

Derrygonnelly's Conall Jones. Picture credit: Paul Mohan / Sportsfile
Derrygonnelly's Conall Jones. Picture credit: Paul Mohan / Sportsfile

Independent.ie Sportsdesk

Classy Conal Jones was the star of the show for Fermanagh champions Derrygonnelly, who had slightly too much power and panache for Armagh Harps on Saturday night when two early goals were the springboard for the favourites.

Both sides finished with 13 men after referee Dan Mullan gave Armagh Harps' Conor Coulter and Gareth Swift red cards, along with Denis Greene of Derrygonnelly, following a minor melee in the 40th minute, with Derrygonnelly's Gary McKenna sent off for a second yellow card offence on 58 minutes.

Derrygonnelly's strong start came when veteran Paul Ward sent Armagh keeper Patrick Morrison the wrong way from the penalty spot after Gary McKenna was fouled and Conal Jones's opportunistic goal after a bad kick-out which put them 2-2 to 0-3 ahead by the 20th minute.

Sub Stephen McGullion and Jones hit two more points for a 2-4 to 0-4 scoreline at half-time.

The pace slowed drastically in the second half, and Armagh Harps lost their two men, as further Conal and Garvan Jones' scores put it beyond the Armagh champions.

Scorers - Derrygonnelly: C Jones 1-5, P Ward 1-0 (pen), G Jones 0-2, S McGullion 0-1. Armagh: U Lennon 1-2, G Swift 0-2, M McConville, R McShane, J McElroy, C Murphy 0-1 each.

Derrygonnelly Harps - D Feely; S McGullion, T Daly, M Jones; D Greene, E McHugh, G McGinley; R Jones, G Jones; K Cassidy, P Ward, D Cassidy; G McKenna, Lee Jones, C Jones. Subs: S McGullion for Daly (inj) (8), A Gallagher for Lee Jones (36), N Gallagher for McGullion (59), A McKenna for Cassidy (64), S Jones for Ward (65).

Armagh HarpS - P Morrison; S Farry, K Loughran, C Stevenson; R McGrath, D McKenna, M McConville; L Oliver, C White; R McShane, J McElroy, T O'Kane; C Vernon, U Lennon, S McCoy. Subs: J Loughran for K Loughran (26), G Swift, for McGrath (29), C Coulter for Oliver (h-time) C Murphy for O'Kane (39).

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

REF- D Mullan (Derry).

Indo Sport

The Throw-In: 'Jim Gavin has achieved what Mick O'Dwyer and Brian Cody couldn't do'

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Also in Sport