Tuesday 17 September 2019

Cillian O'Connor returns as Mayo and Galway name teams for Championship opener

Cillian O'Connor
Cillian O'Connor

Sam Roberts

Cillian O'Connor has recovered from injury in time to line-out for Mayo in their Connacht championship quarter-final tie with Galway on Sunday.

O'Connor had been an injury doubt after missing his county's final league game against Donegal in March, where a last-minute score from Kevin McLoughlin ensured Mayo kept their division 1 status.

Galway have also named their team for the clash sold-out MacHale Park.

The Galway side includes three championship debutants in the starting team, Seán Andy Ó Ceallaigh at fullback, Ciaran Duggan in midfield, and Barry McHugh in the forward line.

Mayo coach Stephen Rochford named his team ahead of their much anticipated opening game in this year's championship that takes place in Castlebar on Sunday.

Mayo will be looking to bounce back from last season's disappointment, where the county once again fell agonisingly short at the final hurdle, losing to Dublin by one-point in the All-Ireland final.

Sunday's team shows five changes from that final, including the absence of 2016 footballer of the year Lee Keegan through injury.

The winner on Sunday will book a semi-final meeting with Sligo at the start of June.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Galway (Connacht SFC v Mayo): Ruairi Lavelle; Declan Kyne, Seán Andy Ó Ceallaigh, Eoghan Kerin; Gary O'Donnell, Gareth Bradshaw, Cathal Sweeney; Tom Flynn, Cathal Duggan; Shane Walsh, Paul Conroy, Johnny Heaney; Sean Armstrong, Damien Comer, Barry McHugh

Mayo (v Galway): David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites); Eoin O’Donoghue (Belmullet), Ger Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites), Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis); Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels), Colm Boyle (Davitts), Stephen Coen (Hollymount/Carramore); Seamus O'Shea (Breaffy), Tom Parsons (Charlestown); Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore), Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy), Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber); Conor Loftus (Crossmolina), Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber) (C), Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)

Online Editors

The Throw-In: 'Jim Gavin has achieved what Mick O'Dwyer and Brian Cody couldn't do'

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Also in Sport