Sunday 20 October 2019

Champions Kilmacud Crokes drawn in 'group of death' for Dublin SFC defence

Ronan Mac Lochlainn

Defending Dublin SFC1 title holders Kilmacud Crokes are grouped in the ‘Group of Death’ following last night’s draw at Parnell Park.

The Stillorgan side are pooled with Ballymun Kickhams, St Sylvester’s and Na Fianna in Group 1 - all four clubs qualified for the quarter-finals last year.

Beaten finalists from 2018, St Jude’s, won’t have it all their own way as they are placed in Group 3 alongside St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh, Thomas Davis and Raheny.

 St Vincent’s, champions in 2013, ’14, ’16 and ’17, will look to advance from Group 4 that includes St Brigid’s and Castleknock, for the second year running, as well as an improving Ballinteer St John’s. 


SFC1 Group 1: Kilmacud Crokes, Ballymun Kickhams, St Sylvester’s, Na Fianna.

SFC1 Group 2: Ballyboden St Enda’s, Clontarf, Lucan Sarsfields, Skerries Harps.

SFC1 Group 3: St Jude’s, St Oliver Plunkett’s/ER, Thomas Davis, Raheny.

SFC1 Group 4: St Vincent’s, St Brigid’s, Castleknock, Ballinteer St John’s. 

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

SFC2 Group 1: Round Tower Clondalkin, St Maur’s, Fingallians, Cuala.

SFC2 Group 2: St Anne’s, Erin’s Isle, Naomh Mearnóg, Templeogue Synge Street.

SFC2 Group 3: Whitehall Colmcille, Naomh Olaf, Round Tower Lusk, St Patrick’s Palmerstown.

SFC2 Group 4: Parnell’s, St Mary’s Saggart, St Peregrine’s, Fingal Ravens.

Meanwhile, following last night’s Dublin SHC ‘A’ draw at Dublin GAA headquarters, defending holders Ballyboden St Enda’s find themselves in Group 4, contesting the two qualifying places with Lucan Sarsfields, Setanta and Whitehall Colmcille.

Beaten finalists over the past three years, Kilmacud Crokes, will be favourites to advance from Group 1 that also has Na Fianna, Faughs and O’Toole’s.


SHC ‘A’ Group 1: Kilmacud Crokes, Na Fianna, Faughs, O’Toole’s.

SHC ‘A’ Group 2: Cuala, St Brigid’s, St Jude’s, Ballinteer St John’s.

SHC ‘A’ Group 3: St Vincent’s, St Oliver Plunkett’s/ER, Craobh Chiaráin, Naomh Fionnbarra.

SHC ‘A’ Group 4: Ballyboden St Enda’s, Lucan Sarsfields, Setanta, Whitehall Colmcille.

SHC ‘B’ Group 1: Crumlin,St Patrick’s Palmerstown, Scoil Uí Chonaill, Raheny, Na Fianna, Ballyboden St Enda’s.

SHC ‘B’ Group 2: Naomh Olaf, Kilmacud Crokes, Naomh Barróg, Cuala, Castleknock, Thomas Davis.

Online Editors

The Throw-In: 'Jim Gavin has achieved what Mick O'Dwyer and Brian Cody couldn't do'

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport