Sunday 18 March 2018

Cawley's haul helps St Mary's end long wait for glory

St Mary's 1-20 Curry 2-11

Kyle Cawley shot 1-6 in a man-of-the-match display as St Mary’s beat Curry in the Sligo senior final
Kyle Cawley shot 1-6 in a man-of-the-match display as St Mary’s beat Curry in the Sligo senior final

Darragh Cox

Corner-forward Kyle Cawley shot 1-6 in a man-of-the-match display as St Mary's beat Curry in the Sligo senior final in Markievicz Park yesterday.

Cawley hit three points in each half and also netted a crucial first-half goal against the wind as St Mary's won the title for the first time since 2001.

Fellow county players Stephen Coen and Mark Breheny also kicked three points in the first half as the pre-match favourites led by seven at the break, 1-11 to 0-7.

They went 12 points ahead at one stage in the second half, but goals from Sean Davey and Adrian Marren brought a little balance to the scoreboard as Curry finished strongly.

The south Sligo side scored the two opening scores through Jason Marren and Brian McDonagh.

But St Mary's never looked back once they levelled through scores from Cawley and Coen, and Rory Guinan put them into the lead for the first time on eight minutes.

Cathal Brennan had a hint of goal chance on 21 minutes, but opted for the point on that occasion, but Cawley was clinical in finishing into the net at the other end, after Liam Henry latched on to Dylan Kilgallon's pass to offload to the Sligo minor star in front of the posts.

St Mary's pushed on, and early second-half scores from Cawley and Coen, and a brace from Gerard O'Kelly-Lynch saw Tommy Breheny's side open up a big lead.

Davey fisted a goal in response for Curry midway through the half, and Marren netted a penalty after substitute Danny O'Hara was fouled in the closing stages.

But closing scores followed from Breheny and Guinan as St Mary's gained revenge for their 2012 defeat to the same team.

Winning manager Breheny said: "It was a very bumpy year for us. We were decimated with injuries. Only six of the team that started today started last year's final as well. That is a huge turnover of players, mainly down to injuries and unavailability.

"But other players have come in and done very well. We are delighted to get over the line."

Scorers - St Mary's: K Cawley 1-6 (1 '45'), S Coen 0-5, M Breheny 0-4, R Guinan 0-3 (1f), G O'Kelly-Lynch 0-2 . Curry: A Marren 1-6 (1-0 pen, 5f), S Davey 1-0, J Marren (2f), B McDonagh 0-2 each, C Brennan 0-1.

St Mary's - F Ruddy; S Keenan, J Martyn, L Henry; N McManus, J Davey, G O'Kelly-Lynch; M Butler, B Smith; M Breheny, R Guinan, C Egan; D Kilgallon, S Coen, K Cawley. Subs: P Kilcoyne for Davey (36), C Breheny for Kilgallon (53), D O'Connor for McManus (58), J Lynch for M Breheny (60), S Burns for Coen (60).

Curry - J McDonagh; J Walsh, K Morley, M Gordon; S Marren, D Wynne, G Walsh; S Colleary, S Davey; B McDonagh, A Marren, N McDonagh; C Brennan, K Giblin, J Marren. Subs: D Coffey for Colleary (25), D O'Hara for B McDonagh (48), A Kearns for Morley (49), B McDonagh for Brennan (52), P Durcan for N McDonagh (56), S Cahill for J Walsh (black card 60).

Ref - Marty Duffy.

 Sligo SFC final

Indo Sport

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport