Thursday 18 October 2018

Cavan coast to glory with emphatic win over Wicklow

Cavan 2-16 Wicklow 1-5

Killian Clarke of Cavan in action against Ross O'Brien of Wicklow
Killian Clarke of Cavan in action against Ross O'Brien of Wicklow

Cavan coasted into the second round of the All-Ireland qualifiers this evening when they dismantled Wicklow in the first half at Aughrim last night.

2-8 to 0-1 was the half-time score, after Cavan had played into the stiff breeze. There was no way back for Wicklow from that, even if they played with a bit more spirit and adventure in the second half and James Stafford scored a late goal to take the bare look off the scoreboard.

A Martin Reilly penalty and a Ciaran Brady piledriver in the first half were the key scores for Cavan as they raced out of view.

Some home folk were annoyed at the referee who didn't give Wicklow a free until the 33rd minute of the match.

In truth, Cavan players didn't have to foul in that time, such was the poverty of the Wicklow challenge.

The home team struggled to carry the ball forward and even when they did get near Cavan's goal, Wicklow's players shot wildly.

It was a disastrous end to a Wicklow season that began so well with a shock win over Offaly. Cavan now march on to a date with one of the beaten provincial semi-finalists, that will be decided in Monday morning's draw.

Scorers - Wicklow: M. Jackson 0-3, (2 fs and a 45) R. Finn 0-1 J. Stafford 1-0 D. Hayden 0-1 f

Cavan: C. Brady 1-3 G. McKiernan 0-5, (1f) M. Reilly 1-0, pen C. Reilly 0-2 (2fs) C. Mackey 0-2 (1f) S. Johnston 0-2 (1f) D. McVeety 0-1 O. Kiernan 0-1

Wicklow - M. Jackson; E. Murtagh, R. O’Brien, P. Merrigan; J. Crowe, D. Healy, S. Kearon; R. Finn  J. Stafford; T. Smyth, J. Snell, D. Hayden; S. Furlong, J. McGrath, M. Kenny. Subs- K. Murphy for Crowe 34mins D. Fitpatrick for McGrath ht C. Magee for Kearon 42mins

Cavan - J. Farrelly; K. Brady, P. Faulkner, E. Flanagan; C. Brady, C. Moynagh,  M. Reilly; S. McCormack, K. Clarke; B. Magee, G. McKiernan , O. Kiernan; C. O’Reilly, D. McVeety, S. Johnston. Subs- C. Bradley for Kiernan 45mins C. Mackey (0-2) for Johnston 51mins J. Wharton for Moynagh 60mins N. Clerkin for O’Reilly 63mins

Referee - J. Henry (Mayo)

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport