Sunday 17 November 2019

Casey to captain Kerry as O Se returns

Marc O Sé, Kerry
Marc O Sé, Kerry

Cliona Foley

MARC O Se and Aidan O'Mahony have returned to beef up the Kerry defence in time for their make-or-break league clash with Mayo tomorrow.

Daithi Casey, on his first league start, takes over the captain's armband in place of his injured Crokes clubmate Colm Cooper.

The Kingdom have made five changes since their loss to Derry; three of them are in defence, where Brendan Kealy returns in goals and Brian McGuire and Jack Sherwood lose out.

Paul Geaney, who captained UCC to Sigerson victory last weekend, replaces college team-mate Conor Cox in the forwards as Casey comes in for the injured Jonathan Lyne.

He has been selected at centre-forward but Kerry boss Eamonn Fitzmaurice says he's keeping an open mind as to who will take over the playmaker role that cruciate victim Cooper adapted so well to last year.

"Obviously trying to replace Colm on a like-for-like basis, is not going to happen," Fitzmaurice said.

"But we have lots of options."


GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Darran O'Sullivan has made a much earlier than expected return to the bench after surgery and Johnny Buckley and Fionn Fitzgerald of Dr Crokes are also listed in Kerry's subs.

With both sides chasing a first league victory this year, Fitzmaurice has acknowledged the importance of the trip to Castlebar. "Whichever team gets a win then all bets are off and the league is still very much a live option – whereas if you lose, you are putting yourself under pressure," he admitted.

Alan Freeman, Mickey Conroy and Brendan Harrison will start for Mayo at the expense of David Drake, Cathal Carolan and Diarmuid O'Connor.

Elsewhere, Donegal, like opponents Monaghan, have not named any changes for their Division 2 rematch of last summer's Ulster final.

KERRY (SF v Mayo) – B Kealy; P Murphy, M Griffin, S Enright; P Crowley, A O'Mahony, M O Se; A Maher, D Moran; S O'Brien, D Casey, D Walsh; BJ Keane, P Geaney, J O'Donoghue.

MAYO (SF v Kerry) – R Hennelly; B Harrison, C Cafferkey, K Keane; L Keegan, S McHale, C Boyle; A O'Shea, J Gibbons; K McLoughlin, A Moran, K Higgins; A Gallagher, A Freeman, M Conroy.

KILDARE (SF v Tyrone) – S Connolly; M O'Grady, M Foley, H McGrillen; K Murnaghan, F Conway, P Cribbin; T Moolick, G White; C McNally, E O'Flaherty, S Hurley; P Brophy, T O'Connor, D Mulhall.

DONEGAL (SF v Monaghan) – P Durcan; K Lacey, N McGee, R McHugh; F McGlynn, L McLoone, A Thompson; R Kavanagh, M McElhinney; Mark McHugh, C Toye, A MacNiallais; C McFadden, M Murphy, D Molloy.

Limerick (SF v Roscommon) – D O'Sullivan; J McCarthy, P Brown, M O'Riordan; J Riordan, I Corbett, P Ranahan; G Hegarty, T Lee; M Brosnan, E Hanrahan, S Buckley; G Collins, J Mullane, I Ryan.

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: 'Jim Gavin has achieved what Mick O'Dwyer and Brian Cody couldn't do'

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport