Sunday 21 January 2018

Captains' log suggests plain sailing for Coulter

So who makes the best captains? Defenders, attackers, midfielders? Or perhaps even the occasional goalkeeper?

Forwards have been hitting the jackpot in All-Ireland football finals in recent years: no defender has led his side to glory since Kieran McGeeney with Armagh in 2002.

Since then, it has been forwards all the way which will encourage Down, who are led by corner-forward Benny Coulter. Graham Canty captains Cork from the half-back line.

Anthony Molloy (Donegal) was the last midfielder to lead his side to the title back in 1992 while the last 'keeper to accept Sam Maguire was Dublin's John O'Leary in 1995.

How's this for a team of captains drawn from the 15 positions over 30 years:

John O'Leary (Dublin, 1995); Paidi O Se (Kerry 1985); Seamus Moynihan (Kerry 2000), Jimmy Deenihan (Kerry 1981); Ray Silke (Galway 1998), Kieran McGeeney (Armagh 2002), DJ Kane (Down 1994); Anthony Molloy (Donegal 1992), Ambrose O'Donovan (Kerry); Brian Dooher (Tyrone 2005, 2008), Larry Tompkins (Cork 1990), Paul Galvin (Kerry 2007); Peter Canavan (Tyrone 2003), Graham Geraghty (Meath 1999), Ger Power (Kerry 1980).

(Power was at right half-forward when he captained Kerry in 1980 but played at left full-forward in 1985-86).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport