| 17.5°C Dublin

Cadogan cast in new Rebel midfield role for Kerry visit


Eoin Cadogan, Cork

Eoin Cadogan, Cork


Eoin Cadogan, Cork

Eoin Cadogan has been handed a new role on the Cork football team to play Kerry on Sunday.

Cadogan, a regular defender, has been named at midfield as Ballincollig's Stephen O'Donoghue comes in for his first League start at centre-back. In a reshuffle, Donnacha O'Connor drops to the bench as Mark Collins switches to full-forward.

Kerry's only change sees Barry John Keane recalled as Paul Geaney drops out.

Mayo give a League debut to Ballycastle's Michael Forde for their game in Derry as Diarmuid O'Connor, Stephen Coen and Patrick Durkan are released to the U-21 squad.

Donal Vaughan also loses out with an ankle injury as Danny Kirby is recalled. Kenneth O'Malley replaces Rob Hennelly in goals while Ger Cafferkey also returns.

Mickey Harte has named an unchanged Tyrone team to face Dublin but Conor McManus again misses out for Monaghan against Donegal.

In hurling Shane O'Neill will start for the Cork hurlers against Dublin at the injured Damien Cahalane's expense, the only change from the win over Clare.

Conor McDonald returns from injury for Wexford against Limerick in Division 1B while Andrew Shore is also back in after his 12 month suspension was overturned.

Cork (SH v Dublin) - A Nash; S O'Neill, C Joyce, C O'Sullivan; L McLoughlin, M Ellis, C Murphy; D Kearney, A Walsh; C Lehane, S Harnedy, R O'Shea; A Cadogan, L O'Farrell, P Horgan.

Limerick (SH v Wexford) - N Quaid; S Walsh, R McCarthy, S Hickey; T Condon, W McNamara, D Morrissey; J Ryan, P Browne; J Fitzgibbon, D O'Grady, D Hannon; D Reidy, S Dowling, D Breen.

Cork (SF v Kerry) - K O'Halloran; J Loughrey, M Shields, Tom Clancy (Clonakilty); Tomas Clancy (Fermoy), S O'Donoghue, J O'Sullivan; E Cadogan, F Goold; K O'Driscoll, J O'Rourke, C O'Driscoll; C O'Neill, M Collins, B Hurley.

Kerry (SF v Cork) - B Kealy; P Kilkenny, M Griffin, F Fitzgerald; J Lyne, J Sherwood, P Murphy; A Maher, D Moran; M Geaney, B Sheehan, J Buckley; S O'Brien, K Donaghy, BJ Keane.

Mayo (SF v Derry) - K O'Malley; T Cunniffe, K Keane, K Higgins; L Keegan, G Cafferkey, C Boyle; S O'Shea, D Kirby; K McLoughlin, A O'Shea, M Forde; M Ronaldson, C O'Connor, J Doherty.

Tyrone (SF v Dublin) - N Morgan; A McRory, R McNamee, C McCarron; R McNabb, J McMahon, P Harte; C Cavanagh, P McNulty; T McCann, M Donnelly, B Tierney; D McCurry,, S Cavanagh, C McAlliskey.

Wexford (SH v Limerick) - M Fanning; L Ryan, M O'Hanlon, C Kenny; P Foley, L Chin, A Shore; D Redmond, D O'Keeffe; J Guiney, D Waters, I Byrne; P Morris, C McDonald, P Doran.

Monaghan (SF v Donegal) - R Beggan; C Boyle, D Wylie, K Duffy; D Mone, F Kelly, K O'Connell; N McAdam, D Hughes; O Duffy, D Malone, R McAnespie; P Finlay, K Hughes, D McKenna.

Irish Independent