Wednesday 22 November 2017

Burns strikes late to see off Wexford

Cork showed they will not relinquish their Gala All-Ireland senior camogie title without a fight after a gutsy last-ditch victory over Wexford at Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

Cork trailed the league champions by a point entering added-time, but Sile Burns struck for a crucial goal and then followed up with a point to secure a 2-10 to 1-10 victory.

The hosts got off to a wonderful start with Julia White scoring a goal, but a resolute Wexford outfit stayed in touch and were just two points behind at the break, 1-5 to 0-6.

Skipper Una Leacy was in brilliant form for Wexford and she struck for a trademark goal to give her side the upper hand before Burns sealed Cork's place in the semi-finals.

Kilkenny maintained their perfect record, but once again Clare showed that they are not out of place in this company before losing out on a 4-14 to 0-14 scoreline at Corofin.

Michelle Quilty finished with 0-9 as Kilkenny added 1-5 in nine minutes of injury-time, including a goal by Ann Dalton, to give them a flattering margin of victory.

Galway secured a comfortable 4-19 to 2-5 victory over Dublin in Portmarnock. Aislinn Connolly was on fire, totting up a personal tally of 2-8.

McGuinness stars as Jackies claim title

DUBLIN secured a third successive TG4 Leinster senior football championship crown with a 2-13 to 0-9 victory over Laois in the provincial decider at Dr Cullen Park yesterday.

Dublin march on to the quarter-finals of the TG4 All-Ireland championship, while Laois must regroup for the second round of the qualifiers on August 7/8.

Dublin dominated the first half and at the break they had established a 0-8 to 0-2 lead.

The Jackies killed the game off with two goals early in the second half. Orla Egan scored Dublin's first and Lindsey Peat slotted home after capitalising on a mistake in the Laois defence for the second.

Dublin full-forward Amy McGuinness scored six points in an outstanding display.

SCORERS -- Dublin: A McGuinness 0-6, S Ahern 0-5, L Peat 1-1, O Egan 1-0, E Kelly 0-1. Laois: T Lawlor, M Dunne 0-3 each, N Kirwan 0-2, A Taylor 0-1.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport