Friday 23 March 2018

Burns leads Louth stroll

Louth 2-24 Carlow 3-11

Ryan Burns
Ryan Burns
James Califf of Louth in action against John Murphy of Carlow Photo: Sportsfile
Carlow's Sean Gannon battles with Louth's James Stewart. Photo: Sportsfile
Declan Byrne of Louth in action against Seán Gannon of Carlow. Photo: Sportsfile newsdesk

Ryan Burns further bolstered his burgeoning reputation by scoring 1-7 as Louth booked a Leinster SFC quarter-final clash with Meath and condemned Carlow to a fifth successive first-round exit.

Anthony Williams scored Louth's other goal; Chris Blake, Darragh O'Brien and Paul Broderick all hit the net for Carlow but the Barrowsiders were way off the pace.

Louth were 0-11 to 0-6 up at half-time after an entertaining opening period. Carlow opened the scoring after just 16 seconds with a monster point from midfielder Sean Gannon, but James Califf got Louth back level and the Wee men never looked back from there.

Burns put them ahead with a free and Declan Byrne, Derek Maguire and Jim McEneaney soon added points as Louth build a commanding interval lead.

Carlow got the perfect start to the second half when Darragh Foley pointed a free and then Blake fisted home a goal.

But Burns steadied things for Louth again and Califf pushed them further ahead. They were 0-16 to 1-8 up before O'Brien began another fightback with his goal in the 49th minute but it wasn't enough.

Burns and Williams goaled late on, and Broderick's penalty was merely a consolation when Darran McMahon was black-carded.

Scorers - Louth: R Burns 1-7 (0-5f), J Califf 0-5 (3f), A Williams 1-0, J McEneaney 0-3, D Byrne, D Maguire, C Grimes 0-2 each, G McSorley, J Stewart, R Holdcroft 0-1 each. Carlow: D Foley 0-5 (5f), P Broderick 1-1 (1-0 pen, 0-1f), D O'Brien, C Blake 1-0 each, B Murphy 0-2, S Gannon, B Kavanagh, J Murphy 0-1 each.
Louth: C Lynch; K Toner, P Reilly, P Rath; D Maguire, D McMahon, A Williams; J Stewart, J Califf; D Byrne, J McEneaney, C McKeever; R Burns, C Grimes, B Duffy. Subs: R Moore for Duffy (45), G McSorley for McKeever (65), R Holdcroft for McEneaney (73).
Carlow: R Molloy; B Kavanagh, D St Ledger, K Nolan; H Gahan, J Murphy, G Kelly; B Murphy, S Gannon; D Lunney, D O'Brien, A Kelly; P Broderick, D Foley, C Blake. Subs: B Murphy for Lunney (49), G Power for J Murphy (59), D Smithers for Blake (70), E Finnegan for Kelly (70).
Referee: N Mooney (Cavan).

Sunday Indo Sport

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport