Thursday 14 December 2017

Burke ensures saints are in seventh heaven

St Gall's 0-12 Erin's Own, Cargin 0-11

St Gall's won a record-equalling seventh consecutive Antrim title with the narrowest of victories over Cargin.

St Gall's won a record-equalling seventh consecutive Antrim title with the narrowest of victories over Cargin.

The 2010 All-Ireland club champions survived a scare with the last action of the match, when, leading by just a point, defender Conor Burke somehow denied Cargin sharpshooter Tomas McCann. Had McCann's shot hit the net, rather than Burke's arm, then Cargin would be celebrating a first title since 2006.

St Gall's manager Carl McCabe couldn't hide his relief. "I suppose, in the end, the team with the best footballers closed the game out," said the Omagh native. "But we had a few very close shaves – I don't even know how that one was blocked at the end."

There was little between the sides throughout, but Cargin had a golden opportunity to establish a firm lead on 35 minutes when Michael Magill sent the speedy McCann in on goal and he was stopped illegally by Colm Brady.

Goalkeeper Jimmy McNabb took the penalty, but it was well saved by Chris Kerr. Points from Conor McGourty (two) and Sean Kelly then helped Gall's to a two-point lead. Cargin levelled it with two minutes left, but points from Terry O'Neill and Michael Pollock were enough to see St Gall's over the line.

Man of the match: C McGourty

Scorers – St Gall's: C McGourty 0-5 (3fs), K Niblock 0-3 (1f), N O'Neill, S Kelly, T O'Neill, M Pollock 0-1 each. Cargin: K Close 0-5 (4fs), G O'Boyle 0-3 (1f), T McCann (f), M Magill, M McCann 0-1 each.

St Gall's – C Kerr; C Burke, A McClean, C Brady; J McGreevy, S Kelly, R Wilson; A Healy, A Gallagher; T O'Neill, K Niblock, N O'Neill; C McGourty, M Pollock, K Stewart. Subs: B Bradley for N O'Neill (42), S O'Hara for C McGourty (62), K McGourty for R Wilson (62), S McAreavey for K Stewart (64).

Cargin –J McNabb; D McKeever, J Crozier, M Kane; J Laverty, K O'Boyle, R Devlin; P McCann, M McCann; K Close, T McCann, E McGrogan; T Scullion, G O'Boyle, M Magill. Subs: G McCann for P McCann (30), J Carron for E McGrogan (44).

Ref – B Toland

Irish Independent Sport Star Awards

Pick our magic sports moment of the year and win a trip for two to London. To view the shortlist and cast your vote click here.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport