Monday 23 April 2018

Brother replaces brother for Donegal in tomorrow's Ulster final with Tyrone

Neil McGee of Donegal is back to face Tyrone
Neil McGee of Donegal is back to face Tyrone

Jackie Cahill

IT’S brother for brother on the Donegal team for tomorrow’s Ulster final against Tyrone as Neil returns in defence to replace Eamon.

Neil McGee has served a two-match ban and his inclusion is the only change in personnel to the team that saw off Monaghan in the semi-finals at the second time of asking.

Westmeath have also shown their hand ahead of tomorrow’s Leinster final with Dublin at Croke Park.

Manager Tom Cribbin has made one change to the team that saw off Kildare last month, with Callum McCormack coming in for John Connellan at corner-forward.

Ahead of the Connacht final replay, Senan Kilbride returns to the Roscommon starting line-up.

The experienced St Brigid’s clubman will start at full-forward ahead of Enda Smith, in the only change in personnel made by joint-bosses Kevin McStay and Fergal O’Donnell.

Smith did bag the only goal of last Sunday’s stalemate when he netted in the first half but he was hauled off six minutes after half-time, as brother Donie came on and later kicked the levelling free. Kilbride only tasted four minutes of action but is given the nod to start.

In the qualifiers, Mayo boss Stephen Rochford has made two changes to the side that beat Fermanagh for this evening’s clash with Kildare at Elvery’s MacHale Park.

Donal Vaughan starts in place of Stephen Coen at midfield while Andy Moran will make his 136th senior appearance for the county in the full-forward line, replacing Alan Freeman.

Kildare have also made two changes as Ciaran Fitzpatrick replaces Peter Kelly at corner-back, with Eoghan O’Flaherty preferred to Adam Tyrrell in attack.

Cork face a tricky visit to Glennon Brothers Pearse Park in Longford but there’s no place in the match-day panel for dual stars Aidan Walsh and Alan Cadogan, who linked up with the footballers during the week. Manager Peadar Healy has named an unchanged side following last Saturday’s victory over Limerick.

CORK (SF v Longford) – R Price; C O’Driscoll, E Cadogan, N Galvin; T Clancy, J Loughrey, B O’Driscoll; A O’Connor, I Maguire; P Kerrigan, M Collins, K O’Driscoll; C O’Neill, P Kelleher, L Connolly.

LONGFORD (SF v Cork) – P Collum; C Farrelly, B Gilleran, D Brady; D McElligott, M Quinn, D Masterson; M Brady, D Gallagher; B O’Farrell, J McGivney, B McKeon; R Smyth, B Kavanagh, L Connerton.

DONEGAL (SF v Tyrone) – M.A. McGinley; P McGrath, N McGee, C Gillespie; R McHugh, K Lacey, F McGlynn; R Kavanagh, O Mac Niallais; A Thompson, M McElhinney, E McHugh; P McBrearty, M Murphy, M O’Reilly.

KILDARE (SF v Mayo) – M Donnellan; C Fitzpatrick, D Hyland, O Lyons; J Byrne, E Doyle, E Bolton; T Moolick, K Feely; M O’Flaherty, F Conway, E O’Flaherty; C McNally, N Kelly, N Flynn.

MAYO (SF v Kildare) – D Clarke; B Harrison, K Keane, K Higgins; L Keegan, C Boyle, P Durcan; S O’Shea, D Vaughan; K McLoughlin, A O’Shea, D O’Connor; E Regan, A Moran, C O’Connor.

ROSCOMMON (SF v Galway) – D O’Malley; D Murray, S Mullooly, N McInerney; S McDermott, J McManus, S Purcell; N Daly, C Compton; F Cregg, C Devaney, D Keenan; C Cregg, S Kilbride, C Murtagh.

SLIGO (SF v Clare) – A Devaney; D Maye, K McDonnell, E Flanagan; Keelan Cawley, G O’Kelly-Lynch, B Egan; N Murphy, A McIntyre; J Hynes, M Breheny, N Ewing; A Marren, P Hughes, Kyle Cawley.

WESTMEATH (SF v Dublin) – D Quinn; K Maguire, F Boyle, K Daly; J Gonoud, A Stone, J Dolan; D Corroon, G Egan; D Lunch, P Sharry, R Connellan; K Martin, J Heslin, C McCormack.

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport