| 15.1°C Dublin

Brosnan seals swift Model promotion


Wexford's Ben Brosnan. Photo: Sportsfile

Wexford's Ben Brosnan. Photo: Sportsfile


Wexford's Ben Brosnan. Photo: Sportsfile

Ben Brosnan's personal haul of 0-11 helped Wexford secure promotion as they continued their unbeaten run with victory over London in their clash at Innovate Wexford Park.

Wexford played a poor first half, even allowing for playing into the strong wind. They appeared rooted to the ground as London controlled lengthy passages of play, and with Rory Mason showing real accuracy in attack it was the visitors who looked the more impressive.

Mason pointed his side 0-5 to 0-2 clear after 29 minutes and added two further points to help London in 0-7 to 0-4 at the break.

Three quick points, through sub PJ Banville and two Brosnan efforts from play, had the sides level, 0-7 each, inside three minutes of the restart. Getting totally on top and with Brosnan kicking over some splendid points, the home side moved into a 0-13 to 0-8 lead by the hour mark, with London's solitary response from full-forward Liam Gavanagh.

Wexford's ascendancy was never challenged at any stage of the second half, with Daithi Waters controlling midfield, and it was no surprise when they ran out comfortable winners.

Scorers - Wexford: B Brosnan (6f, 1 '45) 0-11; C Lyng 0-2; PJ Banville, N Hughes 0-1 each. London: R Mason (4f) 0-6; L Gavanagh, D Moore 0-1 each.

Wexford: C Swaine 7; B Malone 6, R Devereux 7, M Furlong 7; E Nolan 7, J Wadding 7, T Rossiter 6; D Waters 8, C Kehoe ; K O'Grady 7, B Brosnan 9, J Leacy 7; C Lyng 7, J Tubritt 7, C Carty 6. Subs: N Rossiter 7 for Malone (b.c. 25); M O'Regan 6 for Carty (28); P J Banville 7 for T Rossiter (ht); A Flynn 6 for Leacy (53); D Shanley 6 for Tubritt (58); N Hughes 7 for Kehoe (63).

London: G McEvoy 8; P Butler 6, C Coyne 7, C O'Neill 6; M Jordan 6, R Jones 6, D Carrabine 6; A McDermott , M Carroll 6; E Murray 6, M Gottsche 7, J Daly 6; R Mason 8, L Gavanagh 7, D Moore 6. Subs: J Gartlan 7 for Moore (46); K Butler for Daly (46); A Moyles 6 for Carroll (62); C Dunne 6 for Jones (62); D Ryan for Carrabine (65); C Dunne for Jordan (69).

Referee: K Murphy (Cork).

Irish Independent