Monday 26 February 2018

Brogan set to deny Down player award

There was major disappointment, not to mention anger, in Down in 1991 when, despite winning the All-Ireland title, they ended up with fewer All Stars than Meath. Down won four awards, two less than Meath.

And, to add insult to Down injury, the Footballer of the Year award also went to Meath and Colm O'Rourke. Since then, the winner has come from the All-Ireland champions, but that is unlikely to happen this year.

Dublin's Bernard Brogan is 3/10 favourite to win the award, with Down pair Marty Clarke and Benny Coulter at 11/4 and 12/1 respectively.

Cork's leading contender is Daniel Goulding, although at 40/1 he needs to deliver something really special on Sunday to overtake the top three.

It's also most unlikely that either of the finalists will provide the championship's top scorer. That honour will go to Kildare's John Doyle on 1-49 (52 points) who's one ahead of Brogan on 3-42 (51).

Goulding is in third place on 1-34 following by Donie Shine on 1-31 while Marty Clarke and Colm Cooper are both on 1-27.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport