Sunday 17 December 2017

Brennan stars in GMIT victory while Garda make winning return to Sigerson Cup

GMIT 1-12 St Pats Drumcondra 0-9

GMIT's Joe Donnellen in action against Niall Friel of St Patrick's College in the HE GAA Sigerson Cup, Preliminary Round,
GMIT's Joe Donnellen in action against Niall Friel of St Patrick's College in the HE GAA Sigerson Cup, Preliminary Round,

GMIT led throughout, as the Galway college pulled off a six-point win over St Patrick’s College in the Sigerson Cup yesterday in Drumcondra.

Damien Brennan top-scored with 1-6 for the eventual winners, against a Pat’s side making their debut in Higher Education GAA’s premier football competition.

Pat’s had a glorious chance to open the scoring in the fourth minute, when Adrian Varley played Shane Dempsey through for a goal chance, but the Westmeathman shot wide.

Brennan fired five first-half points as the visitors led by 0-6 to 0-4 at half-time, with Dempsey keeping the hosts in touch.

GMIT were pretty clinical throughout and only registered one wide in the opening 30 minutes.

Key to this GMIT victory was their ability to hold the likes of Dublin Footballer and St. Pat’s manager Ciarán Kilkenny scoreless over the hour.

The visitors kicked on after the restart, with four unanswered points inside an eight minute spell, with Andy Glennon, Joe Donnellan and Brennan on target.

Dempsey continued to be accurate from placed balls, but Brennan bagged the only goal for GMIT in the 48th minute, after strong pressure on the Pat’s rear-guard.

Val Daly’s men pushed nine points clear, and although they lost Adrian Molloy to a black card with 10 minutes remaining, and Pat’s fought hard with Dempsey on target, GMIT held out for a six-point win.

Scorers for GMIT: D Brennan (3f) 1-6; J Donnellan, A Glennon 0-2 each; M Farragher, P Prendergast (45) 0-1 each.

Scorers for St Pat’s: S Dempsey (7f) 0-7; B Greenan, D Reilly 0-1 each.

GMIT: C Nolan; C Reilly, A Farrell, E McGrath, J Downes, P Holloway, J Keenan; R Steede, D Brennan; C Nally, M Farragher, A Glennon; A Molloy, M Farragher, J Donnellan. Subs: P Prendergast for Kinahan (HT); W McCauley for Molloy (BC) (50); M Shaughnessy for Donnellan (58).

ST PATS DRUMCONDRA: D Curry; N Friel, N O’Donnell, A Quinn; S Melia, E Somerville, R Daly; B Greenan, H McFadden; D McHale, G Gibbons, C Kilkenny; A Varley, S Dempsey, F McMahon. Subs: P Cody for O’Donnell (39); A McGinley for Friel (58)

REFEREE: Niall McKenna


Garda College 1-13

Cork IT 0-8

Last year's Trench Cup winners Garda College made a winning return to the Sigerson Cup at UL yesterday.

The outcome of this game, originally scheduled for Tuesday in CIT and then twice moved, was largely dictated by a dominant first half by Garda, who led by 1-6 to 0-3 at half-time, Justin Blake with a 14th-minute goal as they played with the wind.

While Paul O'Sullivan opened the second-period scoring for CIT, six unanswered Garda points more or less settled matters, notwithstanding two goal chances for CIT'a Darragh Treacy.

Gerard Haran and Colin Compton were among the best performers for Garda.

Scorers for Garda College: J Blake (1-2, 0-2 frees); G Haran (0-3, 0-2 frees), C Compton (0-3 each); D Shannon (0-2, 0-1 free); P Smith, S O’Malley, B Murphy (0-1 each).

Scorers for CIT: J Lonergan (0-4, 0-1 free); S O’Donovan (0-2, 0-2 frees); P O’Sullivan, J Keane (0-1 each)

Garda College: C Kenerick (Tipperary); G Farren (Donegal), G Petit (Roscommon), BJ Molloy (Carlow); P Smith (Cavan), S O’Malley (Roscommon), B Devlin (Louth); P McGee (Louth), B Murphy (Carlow); P Morris (Cavan), D Shannon (Cork), C Shields (Longford); G Haran (Mayo), J Blake (Galway), C Compton (Roscommon).

Subs: J Kearney (Galway) for Devlin (HT), M Holland (Roscommon) for Smith (41 mins, bc), B O’Hare (Louth) for Shannon (52)

CIT: S Barron (Waterford); D Quinn (Cork), S Cahill (Limerick), P O’Sullivan (Kerry); TJ Brosnan (Cork), K Fahey (Tipperary), M Taylor (Cork); D Treacy (Limerick), J Collins (Cork); D O’Connor (Cork), T Sweeney (Tipperary), J Lonergan (Tipperary); C Keating (Kerry), P Kelleher (Cork), S O’Donovan (Cork).

Subs: M Collins (Cork) for Taylor (19 mins), J Keane (Tipperary) for Sweeney (HT), C Davies (Kerry) for O’Connor (35), S Fitzmaurice (Kerry) for Quinn (38), D Cahalane (Cork) for Brosnan (47), C Conneally (Tipperary) for Keating (53).

Referee: D O’Mahoney (Tipperary).

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport