| 18.1°C Dublin

Brennan fires Red Hands past Rossies to book final spot


Tyrone's Lee Brennan

Tyrone's Lee Brennan


Tyrone's Lee Brennan

MIDFIELDER Cathal McShane and corner-forward Lee Brennan excelled as a slick Tyrone side powered into their first All-Ireland U-21 decider since 2003 following Saturday's impressive victory at the expense of Roscommon in Markievicz Park.

The Ulster champions stunned the favourites with a quickfire opening salvo to eventually set up a tasty final clash with Dublin's conquerors Tipperary and the chance to regain a national title last won in 2001.

The whirlwind start of Fergal Logan's men - who impressed throughout with their attitude - saw them bag four points in the opening 10 minutes and were 0-5 to 0-1 ahead by the 11th minute.

It could have been worse for Roscommon early on as the superb Brennan (above), who supplied 0-6 in all, swept a loose ball over Shane Mannion's crossbar after Mark Kavanagh's goal attempt was blocked.

Roscommon, who trailed once Brennan put the Ulster champions ahead after just 17 seconds, never drew level and Tyrone deservedly led by three points at the break, 0-10 to 0-7.


Roscommon looked incapable of matching their opponents' hunger and pace despite six points from Diarmuid Murtagh.

Midfielder Colin Compton worked hard when switched to attack - he scored three points - but Roscommon could never break down a diligent Tyrone defence that was afforded added protection by sweeper Frank Burns, who dropped back from midfield.

Roscommon, who were last year's finalists, managed to squeeze the margin to a single point, 0-8 to 0-7, after a fine point from Murtagh after 27 minutes but they failed to get any closer.

Tyrone were always capable of keeping Roscommon at arm's reach and they closed out the game with pointed frees from Brennan and McNulty.

Two of the losers' main starting forwards, Ultan Harney and Enda Smith, failed to score and a late goal chance, which would have made things hairy for Tyrone, never materialised.

SCORERS - Tyrone: L Brennan 0-6 (1f), D McNulty 0-4 (3fs), C McShane 0-3, M Kavanagh 0-2, M Cassidy, F Burns 0-1 each. Roscommon: D Murtagh 0-6 (4fs), C Compton 0-3, R Daly (1f), J Earley, T Corcoran ('45') 0-1 each.

TYRONE - S Fox, R Mullan, P Hampsey, M Cassidy, C McLaughlin, R Brennan, K McGeary, F Burns, C McShane, C Meyler, M Kavanagh, M Walsh, L Brennan, D McNulty, R McGlone. Subs: S McKenna for McGlone (41), M Bradley for Kavanagh (48), P McKenna for Walsh (57), D Kavanagh for Brennan (60+1).

ROSCOMMON - S Mannion, N McInerney, S Mullooly, D Barron, E McGrath, C Kenny, R Daly, C Compton, T O'Rourke, S Killoran, U Harney, K Kilcline, D Murtagh, E Smith, P Kenny. Subs: N Kelly for Mannion (29), T Corcoran for O'Rourke (30+2), J Earley for Kilcline (h-t), N Gately for P Kenny (40), K Finn for Compton (59), D Neary for C Kenny (60).

Ref - P O'Sullivan (Kerry).

Indo Sport