Saturday 15 December 2018

Big guns rested as Jim Gavin names Dublin team to face Roscommon

Brian Fenton of Dublin
Brian Fenton of Dublin

With one eye on next Saturday's All Ireland semi-final against Galway, Dublin boss Jim Gavin has made nine changes to his team for today's Super 8s clash against Roscommon.

Mick Fitzsimons comes into the full-back line alongside Philly McMahon and Cian O'Sullivan while Eric Lowndes and Darren Daly get the nod ahead of them.

Paul Flynn will start in midfield alongside Michael Darragh Macauley with Brian Fenton rested.

Also rested are Dean Rock, Ciaran Kilkenny and Brian Howard as Eoghan O'Gara, Cormac Costello, Kevin McManamon and Paddy Andrews are all named to start.

DUBLIN (v Roscommon): 1. Stephen Cluxton; 2. Mick Fitzsimons, 3. Cian O'Sullivan, 4. Philly McMahon; 5. Eric Lowndes, 6. James McCarthy, 7. Darren Daly; 8. Paul Flynn, 9. Michael Darragh Macauley; 10. Niall Scully, 11. Eoghan O'Gara, 12. Cormac Costello, 13. Kevin McManamon, 14. Paul Mannion, 15. Paddy Andrews

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, a trip to Old Trafford to watch Man United take on Liverpool in the Premier League, tickets to Ireland's home games in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport