Wednesday 20 November 2019

Banner boys Joseph's are extra special as they fend off Déise's Rathgormack

St Joseph's, M-Malbay 1-11 Rathgormack 0-11

'Rathgormack had to play with 14 men for the last quarter of normal time as Cathal Crowch was sent off' (stock photo)
'Rathgormack had to play with 14 men for the last quarter of normal time as Cathal Crowch was sent off' (stock photo)

Clare champions St Joseph's eked out a victory in extra-time against a dogged Rathgormack (Waterford) in their Munster SFC quarter-final, in front of an attendance of 1,816 at Miltown Malbay yesterday.

Rathgormack had to play with 14 men for the last quarter of normal time as Cathal Crowch was sent off (second yellow) but still managed to force extra-time with a late pointed free by Jason Curry.

Please log in or register with for free access to this article.

Log In

Yet restored to 15 for extra-time they were outscored by 0-4 to 0-1.

Miltown got the game's first score, a point from play by Kieran Malone, in the opening minute. Rathgormack's opener arrived in the fifth, thanks to a free by Jason Curry. The sides were level on three further occasions before the break until Joseph's Eoin Cleary struck for the game's only goal in the 22nd minute and his side led 1-4 to 0-6 at the interval.

Earlier in the half Miltown's Cormac Murray was almost in for a certain goal, but Rathgormack's goalkeeper Pádraig Hunt denied him with a fine save.

After the break, there was never more than two points between the sides and when Jason Curry landed a big free for the Waterford men in the 58th minute, he sent the game to extra-time, 1-7 to 0-10.

Miltown-Malbay began well and by half-time in extra-time led by 1-10 to 0-10. Eoin Cleary grabbed their first point and then the impressive Murray popped up to record two vital points. Kieran Malone and Jason Curry exchanged points in the second half to give the hosts victory and a place in the semis against Clonmel Commercials.

Scorers - St Joseph's: E Cleary 1-5 (0-1f), K Malone 0-4, C Murray 0-2. Rathgormack: J Curry 0-7 (5f), C Murray 0-2, R Flyn, J Power 0-1 each.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

St Joseph's - S O'Brien; E O'Gorman, S Malone, E 0'Brien; G Curtin, Gordon Kelly, A McGuane; O Looney, C Cleary; M Murray, E Cleary, K Malone; B Curtin, EC Murray, Graham Kelly. Subs: E Reidy for M Murray (ht), E Curtin for Graham Kelly (40), M Murray for E Curtin (inj, 53), J O'Connor for Gordon Kelly (bc, 70), E Fox for Looney (78).

Rathgormack - P Hunt; C Crowch, C Walsh, L Connolly; W Hahessy, T Walsh, R Flynn; M Curry J Curry; J Power, S Curry, B Power; C Murray, J Gleeson, P Drohan. Subs: John Kirwan for Drohan (ht), R Cahill for Connolly (53), J Hickey for Flynn (70), R Flynn for T Walsh (77), James Kirwan for J Power (78).

Ref - D Murnane (Cork).

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: 'Jim Gavin has achieved what Mick O'Dwyer and Brian Cody couldn't do'

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport