Friday 13 December 2019

Ballinasloe hold their nerve


The old cliche of 'goals win matches' rang true as Ballinasloe booked their place in the final at a rain-soaked Kingspan/Breffni Park.

It was a backs-to-the-wall display by the winners in the second half as they failed to score for the final 28 minutes of the game.

Armagh kingpins Port Mor had corner-forward Christopher Lennon dismissed after a second yellow card in the 27th minute but staged a storming second-half rally.

The Galway and Connacht champions did most of their best work in the first half to open up a 2-5 to 0-4 interval lead, Padraic Cunningham, from a penalty, and Michael Colohan bagging the goals.

Port Mor's cause seemed to be lost as they trailed by 2-7 to 0-5 after 36 minutes, but they rallied superbly. Ballinasloe came under relentless pressure in the closing stages, but they defended bravely to hold out.

Scorers – Ballinasloe: P Cunningham 1-1 (1-0 pen, 0-1f), M Colohan 1-0, L Lynch, K Kelly (2f) 0-2 each, P Whelehan, D McCormack 0-1 each Port Mor: D Curran 0-5 (4f), M Casey 0-2 (1f), G Traynor, S Nugent, C Donnelly 0-1 each

Ballinasloe – N King; E Fenton, D Nevin, J Shaughnessy; N Hynes, K Kelly, S Kenny; L Lynch, L Tierney; D Burke, P Cunningham, G Canavan; D McCormack, M Colohan, P Whelehan. Subs: S Kelly for E Fenton (h-t), J Twohig for M Colohan (48), R O'Healy for S Kenny (50)

Port Mor – G Kelly; G Curran, N Traynor, C McKenna; G McCrilly, L Donnelly, B Nugent; C Holmes, M Curran; M Casey, D Curran, M McCrory; C Lennon, G Traynor, S Nugent. Subs: J McBride for L Donnelly (27), C Donnelly for G McCrilly (55), G McGee for M Casey (59)

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Ref – J Curley (Meath)

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, tickets to Ireland's against Scotland in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Irish Independent

The Throw In: From 1955 heartbreak to 2019's five in-a-row - Inside the Decades of the Dubs

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport