Thursday 14 December 2017

Aughawillan stun reigning Mary's to claim Leitrim title

Aughawillan 1-13 St Mary's 1-10 - Leitrim SFC final

Photo: Piaras O Midheach / SPORTSFILE
Photo: Piaras O Midheach / SPORTSFILE

Aughawillan shocked reigning champions St Mary's to land the title at Pairc Sean MhicDiarmada, Carrick-on-Shannon yesterday.

Aughawillan deservedly led 0-9 to 0-4 at half time.

A Robbie Lowe goal in the 37th minute gave Mary's some hope but Aughawillan remained firmly in control and clinched victory with Sean Flanagan's penalty goal in the 60th minute .

Scorers: Aughawillan: S Flanagan 1-0 (pen), C Gilheany 0-5 (4fs), G Plunkett 0-4, M Plunkett, M Quinn 0-2 each. St Mary's: R Lowe 1-1, R Mulvey 0-3, A Doherty (f), J DeLacy, D Farrell, J McGrail, M McWeeney, J O'Rourke 0-1 each.

Aughawillan: C Maguire; D McGovern, M Quinn, G McGovern; N Beirne, N Plunkett (capt), S Quinn; S Fox, S Flanagan; R McTague, M Plunkett, P Dolan; C Gilheany, G Plunkett, M Quinn. Subs: S Gilheany for D McGovern, R Creamer for McTague.

St Mary's: C Glancy; B Butler, J Glancy (capt), J Cassidy; J DeLacy, C Farrell, N McWeeney; J McGrail, D Lowe; C Cunniffe, B O'Donnell, D Farrell; R Mulvey, M McWeeney, C O'Reilly. Subs: R Lowe for C Farrell, A Doherty for D Farrell, C McWeeney for D Lowe, N Comerton for C O'Reilly, J O'Rourke for M McWeeney.

Referee: J McCaffrey (Aughnasheelin).

Irish Independent Sport Star Awards

Pick our magic sports moment of the year and win a trip for two to London. To view the shortlist and cast your vote click here.

Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport