Saturday 17 March 2018

All-Ireland MFC Quarter Finals: McErlain hails Derry grit

Derry 1-13 Sligo 0-15

Derry manager Damian McErlain. Photo: Sportsfile
Derry manager Damian McErlain. Photo: Sportsfile Sportsdesk

Damian McErlain hailed the character of his Derry minors as they ground out a hard-earned win in Ballybofey to reach the semi-finals.

Red Óg Murphy was in inspirational form for Sligo, kicking 11 points, and the Yeats men seemed set for victory when they led 0-10 to 0-6 at the break.

But Derry, who hit 17 wides, bagged the decisive score when Richie Mullan was put clear by Tiarnan McHugh and kept his cool to slot home past Alan Davey in the 43rd minute.

Even then, Murphy dragged Sligo back into it and the sides were level in the final minute when Patrick Quigg stepped up to arch over the game-winning free for the Ulster champions.

"I'm impressed by that sort of character," McErlain said.

"To dig in and deliver is a very tough thing, but t They showed they have the character and desire to challenge for the All-Ireland.

"We were under a fair bit of pressure."

Scorers - Derry: R Mullan 1-2, O McWilliams (3fs) 0-4, P Quigg 0-2fs, D Cassidy, T McHugh, S McErlain, O Quinn, C Brown 0-1 each. Sligo: R Murphy 0-11 (7fs), B Gorman 0-2, C O'Dowd, C Brett 0-1.

Derry - O Hartin; O McGill, S McKeever, F Mortimer; O Quinn, D Rafferty, C McShane; P McGrogan, O McWilliams; P Quigg, R Mullan, D Cassidy; B McCarron, T McHugh, C Murphy. Subs: C McCluskey for Cassidy (h-t), S McErlain for Murphy (h-t), C Brown for McShane (48), M McGrogan for McHugh (50), M Bradley for Rafferty (53), C Quinn for O Quinn (60).

Sligo - A Davey; E Lyons, B Cox, J Weir; K McKenna, E Lavin, O Conlon; N Colsh, B Gorman; R Anderson, L Towey, C O'Dowd; C Ryan, R Óg Murphy, C Brett. Subs: O Higgins for Anderson (38), C Marren for Ryan (44), B Tuohy for Weir (47), J Ellis for O'Dowd (55), J Carroll for Brett (60).

Ref - J Molloy (Galway)

Pierson's strike sinks Tribesmen

Cavan 1-11 Galway 0-11

Cavan caused a major shock when they defeated favourites Galway in an exciting All-Ireland minor quarter-final at Páirc Seán MhicDiarmada, Carrick-on-Shannon, on Saturday.

The Tribesmen started in determined fashion and dominated possession.

They had a narrow lead of 0-6 to 0-5 at the interval and enjoyed another spell of dominance on the resumption, extending their lead to four points by the 39th minute.

However, Cavan fought back and, in a purple patch, scored four points to Galway’s one between the 40th and 52nd minute to leave just one point between the sides.

A Daragh Silke point gave the Tribesmen a two-point cushion, but the turning point came four minutes from time, when a Cavan move ended with Oisín Pierson firing to the net, followed by two Cian Madden points.

That handed Cavan the win and a semi-final date with Kerry on August 20.  

Scorers Cavan: O Pierson 1-3 (1f), C Madden 0-4 (1f), R Curran 0-2,P Rogers,T Reilly 0-1 each. Galway: D Silke 0-5 (4f), P Costello 0-3 (2f), M Barrett, C Campbell, E Murphy 0-1 each.

Cavan — G O’Rourke; J Cooke , E Fortune, K Brady; P Nulty, C Timoney, D Cusack; R Patterson, J Smith; R Curran, C Madden, P Rogers; O Pierson, P Lynch, T Reilly. Subs:  R Coyle for Brady BC (22), O Kiernan for Timoney BC (33), N McCabe for Reilly (41), S Keogan for Lynch (46).

Galway — O Burke; E McFadden, S Mulkerrin, C Murray; J Glynn, S Fitzgerald, L Boyle; M Barrett, E Murphy; B Harlowe, D Silke, L Costello; C Campbell, P Costello, D Kenny. Subs: M Geraghty for Harlowe(HT), M Kerrigan for L Costello (HT), M Tierney for Geraghty (54).

Ref — J Bermingham (Cork).

Clifford clinical for Kerry

Kerry 1-22 Louth 2-9

Kerry look to be in a strong position for another tilt at an All-Ireland minor football title as they had ten points to spare over the Wee County at the end of Saturday’s quarter-final in Portlaoise.

David Clifford led the way for Kerry once again with a total of 0-9, but it was Donnachadh O’Sullivan who scored the goal in the eighth minute as they led by 1-7 to 0-1 after the opening quarter.

Ciaran Keenan’s strong turn and finish for Louth left the half-time score 1-11 to 1-5 and the Leinster side managed to breach the Kerry net again in the 39th minute, Eoghan Callaghan the finisher to make it 1-14 to 2-6.

The defending champions weren’t too perturbed however, with Brian Friel scoring five from the centre-forward berth to see them through to a  Croke Park return in two weeks time for a semi-final clash against Cavan.

Scorers: Kerry- D Clifford 0-9 (3f), B Friel 0-5, (1f), Donnachadh O’Sullivan 1-1, Donal O’Sullivan 0-3, (1f), F Clifford 0-2, N Donohoe and M Slattery 0-1 each Louth- C Keenan 1-3, (0-2f), J Gallagher (0-6 (4f) and E Callaghan 1-0

Kerry –  D Uosis, S O’Leary, C O’Donoghue, C Gammell, M Potts, E Horan, N Donohoe, B Mahony, D O’Connor, A O’Donoghue, D Clifford, Donal O’Sullivan, F Clifford, Donnachadh O’Sullivan, B Friel Subs: D Casey for S O’Leary (41), P Warren for Donoghue (46), R O’Neill for Horan (47), M Slattery for Donal O’Sullivan (52), C O’Reilly for Donnachadh O’Sullivan (54) and M O’Leary for Potts (56)

Louth: A McGauley, A Connor, D McGreehan, D Corcoran, L Grey, N Browne, J O’Reilly, L Jackson, C Morgan, G Garland, C Gillespie, E Callaghan, B Mooney, C Keenan, J Gallagher Subs: C Nicholson for Moran (BC, 35), F Malone for Gillespie and J Murphy for Browne (both 47), S Hickey for Garland (50) and K O‘Neill for Mooney (58)

Ref: M McNally (Monaghan).

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport