Friday 20 April 2018

All-Ireland champions Corofin dominate club football team of the year

Corofin players celebrate. Photo: Sportsfile
Corofin players celebrate. Photo: Sportsfile

All-Ireland champions Corofin have been honoured with six winners on the first AIB GAA Club Players' football team of the championship.

Liam Silke, Kieran Fitzgerald, Dylan Wall, Michael Farragher, Ian Burke and Martin Farragher help make up the team which was chosen by local and national media. Burke, Farragher and Silke are also nominated for the Club Footballer of the Year award which will be announced at a banquet in Croke Park on Saturday, April 21.

Slaughtneil have the next highest representation with four footballers from the Derry club selected. Antóin McMullan, Karl McKaigue, Chrissy McKaigue and Chris Bradley all feature after their exploits over the season. James Murray and sharpshooter éanna O'Connor represent Kildare and Leinster champions Moorefield. Nemo Rangers have two representatives in Alan O'Connor and Luke Connolly with Kilcar's Paddy McBrearty completing the side. A hurling equivalent will be unveiled next week.

Club football team of the championship

Antóin McMullan (Slaughtneil); Liam Silke (Corofin), Kieran Fitzgerald (Corofin), Karl McKaigue (Slaughtneil); James Murray (Moorefield), Chrissy McKaigue (Slaughtneil), Dylan Wall (Corofin); Alan O'Donovan (Nemo Rangers), Michael Farragher (Corofin); éanna O'Connor (Moorefield), Christopher Bradley (Slaughtneil), Ian Burke (Corofin); Patrick McBrearty (Kilcar), Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers), Martin Farragher (Corofin).

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport